A Wednesday Confession …

Well, it’s still Wednesday here in my little corner of the universe. Barely, but it counts. My mom always loved telling me, “Close only counts in hand grenades and horseshoes.” But I beg to differ; I think it counts in blogging, too, particularly when one is trying to get something in under the wire of an arbitrarily determined personal deadline.

Anyhow, I thought I might try something a bit new. I’ve never done a “themed” sort of post, but I follow several blogs that employ this tool to wonderful effect. I figured it might be a fun way to shake things up a bit in the middle of the week, as well as helping me attempt to get posts out more frequently. The ten or so people who read my blog might thank me for that. Then again … perhaps you won’t. It’s hard to say.

So … A Wednesday Confession …

statute with flowersI only like grape jelly. Oh yeah, I know. Shocking, right? I think I just heard at least a couple of you guys scream in fear and run from the room in order to escape your computer monitors. Little do you know that my words will follow you … Everywhere. (not really)

Here’s the thing: I have only liked grape jelly from my earliest childhood. When first faced with the decision as to what jelly I should eat, I selected grape. And grape it has been, ever since. This was rather a big deal in my growing-up years, as I come from people who either can their own jellies, jams, and preserves or have ready access to (free) homemade jellies, jams, and preserves. We were not a rich family. And yet, since I subsisted almost entirely on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for most of my childhood, my poor parents were forced to purchase grape jelly from the grocery store. Because, of course, no one we knew had a vineyard. Or even a grape vine.

As I grew older, I toyed with other flavors. I tried marmalades and different types of preserves. I tried “normal” flavors, like strawberry, and I even headed over to the exotics for a taste of fig or quince. I won’t lie. I liked some of them. I particularly like fig jelly with the right type of cheese and cracker combo. But I always came back to grape. And, like a lovely memory from my childhood, grape jelly was always there, ready to welcome me back with open arms. It wasn’t that I felt I had been unfaithful to grape. It’s more that my foray into the more adventurous world of jelly-dom deepened my devotion to my childhood favorite. Which is pretty odd, considering I don’t particularly enjoy eating grapes. And I don’t like grape juice, either. What can I say? I’m a complicatedly simple sort of person.

grapes in a vineyard in californiaIn some ways, I feel I have failed at becoming a true adult. I think adults branch out more. They might even do something as insane as eat strawberry jam on their toast. Whereas I remain firmly rooted in the habits of my past. And yet, each time I reach for the Welch’s Grape Jelly, I can’t find it in myself to regret my choices.

So there you have it. My name is Pish … and I like grape.

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Wednesday Confession …

    • Yay! Although you have never tasted grape jelly, I feel we are kindred spirits, my friend. Those of us who “love what we love” have to stick together! 😀

      (What is vegemite? I hope this is not a stupid question.)

      • I’m going to watch “the happy little vegemite song”. I love it already, just from the title! 😀

        I did a bit of research on this phenomenon (unknown to me until you mentioned it in your comment), and it appears that those of us not in the know about such things make the mistake of slathering too much of it onto our toast/crackers/etc. But perhaps, with a bit of moderation, it would be quite enjoyable. I’m going to have to see if any stores around here carry it, as I am super curious now. I would love to give it a try. 🙂

  1. Just to confuse you – I love Promite 🙂 Vegemite and Promite are Australian spreads, not always appreciated by our overseas cousins. Made from yeast and vegetable extracts, black in colour, they are an acquired taste.
    I’ve never tried grape jelly either. When I was young I was fascinated by American television shows where the kids all ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I devised my own versions. Peanut butter and plum jam (home made) is delicious and peanut butter and honey 🙂

    • Ha, ha! I could have lived in one of those TV shows. For many years, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches were pretty much all I ate. I was a very picky eater and, although I didn’t realize it at the time, I might have been a persnickety child. 😛

      Hmmm. Now I’m going to have to see if I can find Promite and Vegemite somewhere around here. I am really curious about them!

      • you are right about the amount to spread. Vegemite should be just very lightly applied. I f you have any trouble getting it, let me know and I will mail you some. 🙂

      • Awww, thanks! I may take you up on that offer. I have a ton of cleaning and clearing to do around the house for the upcoming holidays (because I have become so good at procrastination >.O), so it will be a bit before I can tuck in and do my research. I just didn’t want you to think I had forgotten or something, if it takes me a while. But, if I can’t find it, I’ll definitely be calling on you! 😀

Leave a Reply

