Weekly Nail Wrap-Up

Today will be my last weekly nail wrap-up on this blog. I remain unapologetically addicted to these bright and shiny lacquer colors, and there are quite a few fun nail posts I would love to do. I keep having ideas and jotting them down on bits of scrap paper, which then litter my desk and hide underneath my computer.

Since it seems my desire for nail posts continues to grow, I decided to split things up a bit. This blog will remain dedicated to my life musings and the occasional fictional or poetic rambling. I set up a new blog for all of my nail polish madness. I used the new (new to me … I don’t spend enough time exploring the nooks and crannies of WordPress’s site admin capabilities) thing where you can set up a new site still dedicated to your current user name. Honestly, I’m not sure if I did it correctly or not. And there is still quite a bit of work to be done on the other site as far as layout and such. But, from today forward, I will locate all of my nail polish adventures at the new blog, Pish Polish.

Here is the link: https://pishpolish.wordpress.com

zoya-apple-sm

I started out my week with Zoya, “Apple”. I liked this polish, although it wasn’t what I expected. It’s a lovely shade of green, and it built up easily on my nails. But I expected the color to be darker and richer, overall. I also expected it to be a two-coater, whereas I needed three coats to get it opaque. So … I’m not sure how I feel about this one. I love the color, and I like the finish. But my pleasure was marred by those couple of unpleasant surprises I experienced when applying it. I’ll definitely keep it. It’s rare that I ever get rid of a Zoya. I liked the color enough that I think I will genuinely enjoy it the next time I wear it. I think this color works nicely for Fall, but it will also be fun to wear in the Spring and Summer.

orly-breathable-givemeabreak-sm

This is Orly Breathable, “Give Me a Break”. I believe these nail polishes are new from Orly. I saw a whole display for them at my local Walgreens, and I was intrigued. This is supposed to have base coat + color +top coat, all in one polish! I’m a firm believer in using base and top coat, so I admit I was more than a little skeptical about this. Still, I love Orly, overall, and I decided to give a couple of these a try. I picked this purple and a dustier lavender out of the display.

Overall, I have to say this polish was pretty good. It went on easily and smoothly in two thin coats. The color was beautiful, and it has a shiny finish. It looked great and “finished” on my nails, even without a top coat. Wear isn’t much of an issue for me because I tend to change my polish out fairly frequently. I wore this for a day and a half or two days, and it wore pretty well. I had a little bit of tip wear at the end of that time, but I did not take it easy on this manicure, either. I even did dishes without gloves, just to see how the polish would hold up. The polish also came off easily, with no staining.

I don’t know that I would wear this brand or polish regularly. But, if you’re in a hurry to get your manicure done, something like this would be a lifesaver.

sinfulcolors-copperpot-sm

Next, I wore Sinful Colors, “Copper Pot”. This is the most delicious Fall color. I’m not sure I can say much more about it. It really is the color of a copper pot on my nails. The orangey-coppery color has flecks of gold mixed into it, which gives this polish a beautiful glow in pretty much all types of lighting. I feel like it shows some brush strokes in my photo, but those were not apparent at all in real life. Overall, just a pretty pretty color with a great formula. I liked this one a lot.

opi-sunrisebedtime-sm

This is OPI, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” (the solid color) + OPI, “Sunrise … Bedtime!” (the glitter). I was so excited to get my hands on Breakfast at Tiffany’s this week. Finally!! I have been looking for this polish ever since the collection first came out. It was sold out online. I waited for it to come to my local stores. Even though I checked back frequently, this color sold out right away. This week, I checked at Ulta yet again, and they had two bottles of it left. Score!! On a whim, I also picked up the Sunrise … Bedtime! glitter topper. I hadn’t planned on getting either of the glitters from this collection, but this one really looked so pretty in the bottle. I love that it has a lot of pink tones in it, which is weird because I’m not usually a pink gal at all.

I love both of these polishes. And I LOVED this manicure. It felt very light, airy, and refreshing on my nails. I felt feminine and dainty wearing this. I’m so happy I was able to get Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I know that polish has gotten mixed reviews, but I really love it. It took three coats to be opaque, but I didn’t have any trouble with the coats streaking or pulling. Each coat dried very quickly. It dries down matte, but it looks amazing once you put a top coat on it. I like this polish so much that I may purchase a back-up of it — if I can find one, that is.

gradient-cdc-sapphprincess-prototype-oldorchard-sm

This is Colores de Carol, “Sapphire Princess” (the darkest blue) + “Prototype” (the mid-tone blue, pictured in the bottle) + “Old Orchard” (the lightest blue). I decided I wanted to try another gradient, so I went with all blue tones this time. You can see I kind of messed up on my pinky. The colors got too muddied up, so the lightest blue doesn’t show at all. Overall, I’m happy with how this turned out. I had a slight problem with my cuticles flooding, which was probably due to overzealous sponging. I think this gradient blended out smoothly, and I love these three colors together. I like this one so much that I still have it on my nails two days later! That is saying a lot!

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Nail Wrap-Up

  1. The breakfast at tiffany’s colour is beautiful! I am so desperate to paint my nails at the moment, however I have seem to misplaced my nail stuff and until I find it, my nails will remain chipped. Not a good look!

    • Thanks! It is a beautiful color. I think it’s a lot prettier on the nail than it looks in the bottle. What a bummer that you can’t do your nails. I hope you find your nail supplies soon!! Thanks so much for stopping by, and for your kind comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

