Fall Nail Polish Picks: Purple

I am finally (FINALLY! Argh!) managing to finish out my Fall Polish Picks series. Honestly, given the unexpected yuck in my life over the last few weeks, I wasn’t sure I would get this done. I started to walk away and leave it. But then, I told myself, “Self, we can’t do that. We started this run-away train. We’ve gotta stick with it until the end!” My Self wasn’t terribly happy, but she did sit down and help me finish up the last details for this post.

So … purple. I saw purple listed on the Pantone site as a trending color for Fall. I never particularly thought of purple as a Fall color, but it does make a lot of sense. I like how purples can range from a dusty, pale, muted color to all-out jewel tones. I think both of those things — and a lot of what lies between them, too! — are perfect for Fall.

26865240570_90fba6f2c4

First off, I have Zoya, “Payton”. It’s from the 2013 Zenith Collection, and the Zoya website describes this polish as “a full coverage, galactic cranberry with holographic glitter”. Yep. That about sums it up. This polish is like wearing the universe on your nails — if the universe suddenly turned cranberry purple, instead of inky midnight blue. (Heck, for all I know, the universe might actually be cranberry purple. I’ve never been to outer space.)

This polish is delicious. It is perfect in every way. The formula is perfection. The appearance on the nail is perfection. And the color is perfection. I remember picking this polish up on a whim at Ulta. It looked sort of interesting in the bottle, and, at the time, I was just starting to get into Zoya. It was still a new brand for me. I came home, put this on my nails … and did NOT want to take it off. EVER. I think I wore this polish for 2 or 3 manicures in a row. This is not something that happens often.

28784330473_18be6af706

Next is Zoya, “Finley”. It’s from the Winter 2016 Urban Grunge Collection. (Can we just pause for a moment to think about how incredible that collection was/is? Yep … so much yumminess in there!) The Zoya website describes this one as a “deep, royal purple, scattered holo”. Finley is definitely Payton’s younger, brassier, slightly louder cousin.

Again, much like Payton, Finley is sheer perfection. It’s an easy one-coater, and the holographic is beyond stunning. It comes alive in the sunlight, but the holographic shows up well even in indoor lighting. I think this is a gorgeous tone of purple for Fall or even late Summer. I like how cool-toned and juicy it looks, color-wise. I loved having this polish on my nails.

27782383112_dbf9d2b152

This is China Glaze, “We Got the Beet”. It’s a grape-y purple, jelly base. And it has a beautiful golden shimmer running throughout. This polish is from the Summer 2016 Lite Brites Collection (another polish collection I thought was stunning; I loved almost everything in it).

Although technically a “Summer” polish, I think this one is so wonderfully beautiful and perfect for Fall. The color tone is deep and juicy. And, to me, the golden shimmer pushes this one right over the edge into Fall territory. It’s warm and cozy, and reminds me of the changing leaves and evenings by the fire. It’s been a while since I last wore this polish, but I think the formula was fairly easy to work with. The shimmer is super strong, so I felt like the formula had a thick feeling to it when I applied it. But it looks stunning with topcoat. I love how apparent the shimmer is on my nails.

opi-douhavethiscolorinstockholm-sm

This is OPI, “Do You Have This Color in Stockholm?” It’s a lovely violet creme with a strong blue undertone, and it’s from the Fall 2014 Nordic Collection.

Overall, I don’t have a lot to say about this polish. It’s beautiful, and the formula is pretty much perfect. I love this sort of color as a Fall polish because it borders on jewel tone without quite running over into that territory. I love blues, overall, so I really love the blue undertones in this polish. For some reason, it makes me think of cozy sweaters and mittens. (I know. I’m weird.)

I also have a bit of a sentimental soft spot for the Nordic Collection. This was one of the first OPI collections that I can remember seeing in the store and wanting nearly EVERYTHING from it. I had been into nail polish in my younger years (like teens and most of my twenties). After my daughter was born, I struggled with depression and anxiety for years. I still struggle with it, but I know better how to manage it now, which is a good thing. Anyhow, one of the ways my depression manifested itself was that I took little to no interest in my own appearance. I stopped coloring or styling my hair. I stopped wearing make-up. I stopped doing my nails. So for a good ten + years, I didn’t do my nails at all. I slowly started getting back into polish around 2012 or so, but I would say this 2014 Nordic Collection really signaled my return (and rekindled obsession) with nail polish. For that reason alone, this collection will always remain a favorite of mine.

opi-vikinginvintervonderland-sm

This is OPI, “Viking in a Vinter Vonderland”. It is a deep, rich, very dark purple creme, and it is also from the Fall 2014 Nordic Collection.

This color is so perfect for Fall. It is deep and moody and rich and so dark. And yet, it remains obviously purple on your nail in pretty much every type of light. It looks more purple in some lights and less so in others, but it never quite looks black. This polish has a lovely formula, too. It goes on easily and deepens up to this gorgeous jewel-toned color in two coats.

When I first got this polish, I wore the heck out of it. Seriously, Fall and Winter of 2014 … this is what was on my nails. All. The. Time. I just couldn’t get enough of it.

opi-lincolnpark-sm

And, of course, there is OPI, “Lincoln Park After Dark”. You didn’t really think I would do a whole Fall purples post without including this one, right? The OPI website describes this color as, “where midnight meets purple”, and I think that about says it all. This one originally came from the Fall 2005 Chicago collection, but I believe it’s part of the core line now. It’s pretty much everywhere, so I don’t think it would be hard to get or difficult to find. I’ve even seen it in my local Rite Aid.

So everyone knows about this polish. I know. But it is so fantastic, and that is why I felt compelled to include it here. In some lights, you can tell this polish is a deep, dark, vampy purple. But mostly, it looks black. But not like a true black. There is something deeper and more jewel-like about it. I love it for Fall. But I also love, love, love it for Winter.

Leave a Reply

