Falling Into It

So Fall is 4 days old already. And we are about 4 days from the beginning of October, too. Both of these things are hard to believe. I don’t know what the heck happened to September. When September started, I remember thinking that it would feel like such a long month because of the start of school and trying to get back into our normal, daily routines. Yeah … Wrong!! I feel like September just started yesterday, and now it’s almost over already. Good grief.

Fall is my favorite season. In spite of the fact that my allergies are often as overactive in Fall as they are in Spring, I still adore it when the weather turns. I anxiously await Fall’s arrival every year, looking forward to that first day when the breeze has a bit of a bite to it and I have to grab a sweater on my way out the door. Summer where we live is oppressive. It’s not always terribly hot, but it’s almost always humid, especially toward the end. It feels like the air is solid — like I will have to swim my way through my daily activities … except that swimming, even in my mind, is impossible because the air is too thick! That first bite of Fall is like breathing. It is such a relief, even with the achy sinuses those air pressure changes bring.

I’ve been ready for months to bid good-bye to Summer. Dare I say it? I have been ready to say good-bye to Summer ever since the first day Summer arrived. There, I said it. I know it doesn’t come as any huge surprise. And so, I was giddy with happiness when that first official day of Fall arrived. Sadly, it’s been a bit of a disappointment. Our weather has remained hot and humid. I think Summer is having trouble letting go. But it’s time, Summer. Not to be rude or anything, but … Get Off My Lawn!

4949674054_c37b5a8f86

Today, it finally felt like Fall outside. The skies were gray and heavy with clouds. The air pressure shifted — at least, that’s what my sinuses told me this morning. The breeze had that crisp, biting edge to it. I don’t know how long the cooler temperatures will last, as I suspect Summer isn’t quite done with us just yet. The leaves haven’t begun to change colors. There is still too much to do and not enough time in which to do any of it.

But today, as I walked outside to run my errands, the breeze hit me and made me shiver. I smiled to myself and reached for my favorite, too-big, gray sweater. And I was happy.

29510074720_5c191cbb7a

Leave a Reply

