Weekly Nail Wrap-Up

It was kind of a crazy and exciting nail polish week for me. After seeing swatch videos from my favorite YouTubers, I had fallen hard for a few of the colors in the Orly Fall 2016 collection (Mulholland). I had been looking for them in my local Sally’s, but with no luck. I finally found them online, so I managed to pick up four out of the six polishes. I placed and received my very first order from Colores de Carol. I’m always excited when I get to try out a new brand, and I had seen so many wonderful reviews of these polishes. I ordered a bit of a variety, color-wise — some Spring/Summer colors and some Fall shades, including a couple from her new collection (I think it’s called Harvest Goddess). Even though we are heading into Fall based on the calendar, the weather in my corner of the universe has continued to feel distinctly Summer-like. Which, to me, means free rein for wearing both Summer and Fall colors — woo hoo! Eh. Who am I kidding? I wear what I want when I want, with little regard to seasonal rules. But this did make me feel like a bit less of a freak for doing it. I have an embarrassingly large “need to be worn” pile of polishes, and I was kind of in “wear all the things!!!” mode. This will likely continue for the foreseeable future, particularly since there are a lot of new polishes coming out right now.

At any rate, all of this combined to make a pretty crazy polish week for me. Crazy in a fun way, so buckle up for a looooong polish post!

29440292310_69bb562792

I started off the week with Colores de Carol. This is a new brand for me, but one that I have wanted to try for a long time. I kept hearing and reading so many amazing, wonderful things about this company and their polishes. Finally, a bit of a sale coincided with a moment of financial weakness on my part, and I made my very first order! Pictured above is part of it. After I took the picture, I realized I forgot to include the two Colores de Carol polishes I wore this week. From L to R these polishes are: “Demeter”, “Road Warrior”, “Ceres”, “Prototype 1052”, and “Sapphire Princess”. A couple of these are new for Fall, and the rest are just new-to-me shades. I was giddily excited as I waited for this order to arrive, and my first glimpse of the polishes did not disappoint! I had a great time unboxing them, lining them up on my desk, and whispering sweet nothings to them. What? Doesn’t everyone do that with their nail polish?

28986544074_a9ea2962c9

The first polish I wore this week was Colores de Carol, “Summer Memories”. This was, of course, part of my initial order from their website, although I forgot to include it in the group picture. This polish is STUNNING! I am so absolutely in love with the color. It is the perfect shade of light/sky blue. As you can probably tell from all my nail ramblings, I am a sucker for blues of any kind. It’s my favorite color. But, even with all the blue polish I buy and all the blue polish I stalk but don’t buy, I had not yet found this particular shade. And I have been looking for it! And looking and looking and looking and … Well, you get the idea. Seeing this on my nails just made me happy. Also, there is a super subtle blue shimmer running through this. It doesn’t show up at all in my picture, and it’s so delicate and subtle that you really have to look for it in person. But I feel like it gives this color some extra dimension and oomph. I loved that little detail.

Formula-wise, I think this polish is good. When I initially applied it, I had some issues, but I think this was a matter of user error more than anything else. I was a bit careless with my application, so I ended up having to do 3 coats on some nails and 2 coats on others. On the nails with 3 coats, I felt like everything was too thick, overall. Next time, I will do a better job and get things on more evenly. I can’t wait to wear this polish again.

I also wore Colores de Carol, “Slippery Deck”. I apologize, because I don’t have a picture of it to include here. I somehow managed to lose the file, although my swatch picture was pretty terrible. It didn’t do the polish justice at all, which makes me feel like losing the file wasn’t such a bad thing. “Slippery Deck” is a wonderfully fun and playful glitter polish. It has all different colors of matte glitter, as well as star-shaped glitter, in a bright yellow cream base. I. ADORED. This. Polish!! I’m hoping to get a better swatch picture to show in my nail wrap-up post next week.

29104533874_a239811434

In keeping with the summery feeling caused by all the hot weather we had over the past week, I decided to wear OPI, “I’m Gown for Anything” + Fingerpaints, “Th-Ink Outside the Box”. Gown for Anything is a really pretty and sort of delicate pinkish lavender. In the bottle, it looks pink to me, but I feel like it looks more lavender on my nails. Either way, it’s a pretty color. I had this one sitting in my to-be-worn stash for a couple of months (or maybe even longer?). I have no idea why I didn’t wear it sooner, although I typically have to be in just the right mood to wear a pastel pink or purple. I’m sure this had a lot to do with it. Formula-wise, Gown for Anything is fantastic. It was very nearly a one-coater, which surprised the heck out of me. And application was easy-breezy. I didn’t even have to do any clean-up afterward, which is  huge (and unusual)! It’s a great polish — and maybe even one of the best ones from that fairly recent Alice in Wonderland collection. Even so, I can’t see myself wearing this polish on its own. No matter how delicate and pretty it is, this just isn’t a color that appeals to me on my nails. I keep on wanting to love these chalky, pastel pinks/purples/lavenders, which is why I continue to buy them. I do love them in the bottle, but not so much on my nails.

But (!!) the Fingerpaints glitter topper (Th-Ink Outside the Box) was LOVE. This has black and white matte glitters in different sized hexes and circles, along with teeny-tiny bars in a clear base. I usually don’t like bar glitter. I feel like they tend to look like little hairs or something. It creeps me out. So, if I had realized this one had bar glitters in it, I probably would have walked away from it. And I would have missed out — big-time! This glitter is wonderful. It was easy to get enough out of the bottle to cover my nails with one swipe, plus a very little bit of dabbing here and there. I love the mix of shapes (yes, even the bars). I love that the glitters are matte. And I love that they are black and white. I feel like it gives this polish an edgy, fun sort of feeling. I ended up adoring this manicure. I got so many compliments on it, and I really didn’t want to take it off. If I hadn’t received new polish in the mail, I probably would have worn this one for the rest of the week and into next week. I loved it that much.

29440262720_b089bdf155

But I did get new polish! So my previous manicure had to go in order to make room for some Fall goodness on my nails! I was so excited over getting these Orly polishes in the mail. I had watched several reviews of them, and I was already completely in love with these four shades. From L to R, they are: “Million Dollar Views”, “Party in the Hills”, “Meet Me at Mulholland”, and “Mansion Lane”. Look how yummy and gorgeous they are!!! *happysigh*

29440262800_4d9b32cb28

Of course, I had to wear “Million Dollar Views” first! I am an absolute and unrepentant sucker for copper-toned polishes. I almost always gravitate toward them in Fall collections. On the rare occasion that a copper polish comes out in the Spring or Summer, I gravitate toward them then, too. But they are more common in Fall, for good reason. I mean, really … When you look at this color, don’t  you just think FALL? It’s the perfect, iconic Fall color that makes me think of crisp weather, snuggling down into my favorite sweater, and crunching through the fallen leaves on my daily walks.

Much as I adore copper polish — and much as I buy copper polish — I have to say it’s hard to find that exact, perfect (for me) copper shade. I want a copper that is bright and bold. For years, I have been looking for a copper that was the shade of a new penny: kind of warm and soft but also bright and a little brassy. Well, I think my search is over, because this one fits that description perfectly! As soon as I put it on my nails, I was like, “Eeeek! It’s the penny color! Yayz!” (Yes, I really did say “yayz”. I’m not ashamed — much.) This color is warm and pretty. I feel like it just glows right off the nail. It’s hard to see in my photograph, but this polish has little copper-toned flakies running through it. They are super pretty in person, and they give the polish a nice bit of extra interest and dimension.

29440262890_c9d03129fe

Much as I adored Million Dollar Views, I was firmly stuck in “wear all the things — rawr!!” mode. So I decided to top it with another polish from the collection: “Meet Me at Mulholland”. Mulholland is kind of an unusual polish. It has a ton of dark copper flakies as well as purple glitter, all in a base that is sort of a charcoal gray color. The purple doesn’t show up at all in the bottle, although I think that is what gives this polish such a rich, dark look. The polish, overall, is very sheer, which made me feel like it would be hard to get it opaque on its own. I saw one of my favorite YouTubers (Phoebe Moon — seriously, she is so awesome. You should check out her channel!) swatch this polish over a dark purple, which was beyond amazing.

I was really into the coppery look of this polish, so I decided to do a tone-on-t0ne look with it. I ended up liking this a lot. Unfortunately, the purple glitters didn’t show up at all, but the combination of the tinted base and the darker copper flakies gave my nails a deep, rich look. I felt like it was elegant but also understated. I still want to try this polish over a dark purple, though. And possibly over a black, too.

29695927666_db8c0ba61c

Last, but certainly not least, we have OPI, “Blue Chips”. Today, I got my hair touched up. There was an unfortunate incident at a make-up counter that led to some of the blue dye in my hair getting bleached completely out around my face. (It was a totally weird and freakish thing.) Plus, my roots were starting to show. This is a good thing because it means my hair is growing. Always a plus when you have had PCOS-related hair woes. But it’s a bad thing because it means a trip to the salon. And a trip to the salon, of course, means that I am getting blue dye on my fingers and around my nails pretty much every time I touch my hair. Needless to say, it was time to break out the blue nail polish once again. (Good thing I love it!)

This polish had me at hello. Seriously. As I was putting this on, I kept wondering how the heck I have lived all this time without this polish in my life. It is freaking fantastic. Like, freaking fantastic in a way that makes me want to roll around on the floor and scream in ecstasy. I love, love, love, LOVE this polish. It’s such a beautiful shade of blue — not too dark but not too light. And the holographic glitter inside it. Yum!! Rainbows on my nails. Rainbows on my beautiful, blue nails. What could be better than that? I’ll tell you: nothing, that’s what!

 

Leave a Reply

