Weekly Nail Wrap Up + June Favorites

I can’t believe it’s July already! Just … wow. The past several weeks have been super busy in my neck of the woods, with doctors’ appointments, physical therapy appointments, errands, summer camp, and car searching tossed in on top of the stuff of every day living. Even so, I feel like June flew by in about a nanosecond. Or less. I don’t know what happened. June, what happened to you! Yikes!! Before I know it, I’m going to be closing in on September and the start of a  new school year. I’m already dreading that. Must. Not. Think. About. It.

So, to make up for my week of no blues last week, it seems I kind of went into “blue overload” this week! I keep on saying I should do a week or two of all blues. This week almost fell into that category, but I have one black polish that swooped in to save the day (so to speak). And, since we’re into a new month, I’m going to stick my June favorites at the end of this post.

27879795002_eb5bba8613

So, I started off the week wearing China Glaze, “Rain Dance the Night Away”. I. LOVE. THIS. POLISH. LOVE IT!! This color is perfection. It’s pretty much the perfect turquoise in my eyes. And wearing this made me so, so, so, sooooo happy. I didn’t want to take it off.

Formula-wise, this one wasn’t super fantastic. I don’t know how this works, but this polish was thin and runny and thick and gloopy all at the same time. It was very weird, because I felt like, if I wasn’t careful enough, it would slide down off my nail and flood my cuticles. At the same time, so much came out on the brush that each coat seemed to go on super thick. I’m not opposed to thick coats of polish, but I generally try to stay on the thinner side, application-wise.  Because of the thick coats, it took forever to dry. And I almost had a bubbling problem. I was able to fix it before it set.

I will definitely wear this one again, even though I think I will have to work with it quite a bit. The color is amazing and perfect, which makes all the hassle more than worth it to me.

27981592345_5f343d7c0b

This is A. England, “Heathcliff”. I think I’ve already mentioned (five or a hundred times) how I’ve recently fallen hard for this brand of polish. I think it might be my new favorite brand, and I am basically in “want to buy ALL the polishes” mode. Which, I know, will never happen. But I’m super happy whenever I can add two or three of them to my ever-growing polish hoard.

“Heathcliff” was part of my latest A. England acquisition. There were three polishes in my order, and two of them were dark colors. I felt a little bit weird about this because it’s Summer, and I know we all think about bright and vibrant polishes during the Summer. I’m weird in that I don’t really follow the seasons with my polish choices. Even so, I had a little bit of “What the heck are you doing?!?” running through my brain as I completed my order.

But. But, but, but, BUT!!! Oh my gosh, this polish is so beautiful. In some lights, it looks black with kind of silvery sparkles/glitter. And then, you see it in a different type of lighting and … BOOM (!!): RAINBOWS. There are so many different colors of glitter in this polish. And all of them show up beautifully on the nail. I don’t know how A. England does this. It’s sorcery, I tell ‘ya! Sorcery! And I love every bit of it.

Like all my other A. England polishes, this one applied like a dream. I did two easy coats, although I probably could have done just one. I can already tell this polish will be a favorite, and I’m going to enjoy the heck out of it in winter (when I can wear it without anyone giving me the side-eye — ha, ha!).

27761699420_654712d29c

Next, I wore China Glaze, “Bahamian Escape”. I originally purchased this color because the inter webs say it’s a possible dupe for OPI’s “What’s with the Cattitude?”. “Cattitude” is on my lemming list because it’s such a gorgeous shade of blue, and, also, because I hadn’t gotten back into nail polish when the collection containing that polish was released. And so, I am relegated to searching out possible dupes. Obsession is real, people! *heavy sigh*

Is this one a dupe? I dunno. I mean, a lot of internet denizens think it is. Based on different pictures I’ve seen, I’m not convinced. I feel like “Cattitude” is a lighter sort of blue. But, this polish is amazingly gorgeous, all on its own. I absolutely do not regret purchasing it, even if it’s not a dupe for my lemming-obsession. This is such a beautiful, sort of mid-tone blue. It’s bright and vibrant without being too in-your-face. And the formula was pretty terrific. From what I recall, it was two easy coats for this one, although I had a little bit of trouble with the color pulling off a couple of nails when I applied too much pressure from my brush.

27762042600_889e3a3abf

Last, but certainly not least, I have Zoya, “Rebel”. I have a long, long list of Zoya polishes that I super-duper-must-have-it-now WANT. Luckily, Zoya doesn’t seem to discontinue many colors, so time is on my side. Right now, Zoya is running a 4th of July special where you can buy three polishes and get three free + free shipping, too. Talk about a fantastic deal! Since “Rebel” was on my ever-so-long list, I wasted little time in popping it into my shopping cart and running for the hills.

In seeing pictures of this color online, I didn’t realize it was kind of frosty/metallic looking. I don’t think it really qualifies as “frosty”, but I don’t think it’s exactly “metallic”, either. Maybe something in between the two? At any rate, I love the finish to this polish. It goes so well with the color and, I think, gives the polish a very light and airy sort of feeling.

And I love this color. It’s such a beautiful and light blue. It reminds me of a favorite pair of blue jeans, after they have been worn and loved and washed. It is soft and comfortable and goes with just about everything. I think it’s a beautiful color for Summer. But I think it will also be really pretty in the winter, since it’s kind of an icy blue.

JUNE FAVORITES:

These were my favorites out of the polishes I wore during June. Again, these are not listed in any particular order. I usually list from oldest (first worn) to newest (last worn), but I think this list is even more random than that. I’m having a magpie moment today, and I didn’t pay attention to writing down my favorites in the correct order. Some days, the concentration just doesn’t happen.

27148628870_37eb8d3bab

China Glaze, “In the Lime Light”. This one won my heart because of the green to blue sort of flash it has. It gives the polish a very other-worldly sort of appearance, and I don’t have anything even remotely like this in my stash. Win!

26972655893_81c6848171

Glam Polish, “The Wrong Alice”. I loved this entire collection from Glam Polish. I thought every color in it was beautiful. But this blue glitter was probably my very favorite out of them all. And I love how it looks on my nails. There is such a pretty mix of glitter sizes, and it looks sparkly and fun and magical.

26942426044_692ea1bef6

Color Club, “So Crumbly”. A beautiful, light blue color mixed with matte black glitters? Yes, please!! I love the black speckles in this polish. It’s such a perfect color combination, and the formula was perfection, too. Wearing this one just made me so happy.

27479795721_69d7f78bd2

A. England, “Sparks Divine”. I loved this one because it’s so elegant and feminine. It made me feel beautiful and special when I was wearing it.

27275084880_3ffd11f10e

A. England, “Whispering Waves”. Such a beautiful color. I feel like it falls somewhere between blue, turquoise, and teal. And the silver shimmer — wow! This polish just seems to glow.

27828049175_5315aaf0c1

A. England, “Order of the Garter”. I love this polish so much. It makes me want to run around in circles and scream like a crazy woman. So, yeah … LOVE.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Nail Wrap Up + June Favorites

Leave a Reply

