Hello, Summer!

Let me start by saying that I don’t particularly love Summer. I have super pale skin that doesn’t tan but burns almost immediately upon any (semi) prolonged exposure to the sun. I do not own a bathing suit. I do not love going to the pool. I do not like mosquitoes. I am allergic to most things that grow and spit out pollen during the summer. (Incidentally, this is also one of the main things I have against Spring … but I digress.) I don’t love watermelon. Or ice cream. I hate hot weather. I have to wear sunglasses even on cloudy days, so super sunny Summer days can be a bit of a torture.

And yet, I am sitting here at my desk feeling overwhelmingly happy that Summer is finally here. I’m talking a level of giddiness that is dangerous, here, people!

“And why is that?” you ask. Or, maybe you didn’t ask. But I’m going to tell you, anyhow.

Because today is the LAST DAY OF SCHOOL. Let’s just take a moment to let the full impact of that sentence sink in. The. Last. Day. Of. School.

8607675674_07586d0722

No matter how many times I say it to myself, I can’t stop smiling. Gone (at least until September) are the 6 AM wake-up calls for a 7:30 AM start time. Gone is the endless complaining and groaning and moaning about early bed times. Gone is the delicate dance of trying to get all the activities done, dinner cooked, bath and hair washed, and still have the Child Unit into bed before midnight. Gone is the constant nagging and checking and worrying over whether or not Child Unit is doing her homework. Or getting dressed on time. (I kid you not. I thought this would get better as she got older, but I swear she spends more time sitting on her bed staring at the wall now than she ever did when she was in elementary school. I don’t get it.) Gone are ridiculous school projects requiring multiple trips to different office supplies and crafts stores. Gone is my feeling of abject failure at not being as creative or clever as other parents. For that matter, gone is my feeling of abject failure at, apparently, being one of the few parents who doesn’t actually do the ridiculous projects for my kid. It’s weird to feel guilty about doing “the right thing”.

Just … gone. Gone, gone, gone, gone, gone. Yes, I know we will be right back at it when September rolls around. But you know what? Right now, it feels like a long time until September. Right now, I’m thinking about late evening walks and movies during the day and quiet time spent with my family and friends and watching my roses bloom and playing with my dogs and chasing fireflies. September can take care of itself while my family and I take a bit of time to recharge.

Heck, I might even go totally crazy and eat some ice cream.

 

2 thoughts on “Hello, Summer!

  1. It’s been many years since I was last in school, yet the end of the school year still fills me with joy. I love the prospect of lazy long days of summer, yet like you can’t stand the heat and have sun-sensitive skin. Enjoy your ice cream!

    • I feel like such a wimp because I spend most of my summer inside, sitting next to the AC vent — ha, ha! I think the end of the school year is so great because you have those precious few days when you just feel like you can do anything at all. No schedule, nowhere to be, nothing in particular to do. I remember, as a kid, summer felt so long and so, so, so BORING! (I grew up in the country, so out in the middle of nowhere, basically.) I always felt dread at the thought of all those weeks and months stretching before me with nothing to do. Now, as an adult, I really miss being bored. LOL

Leave a Reply

