My Week in Nails

So, with all the stress and drama behind me, I’m happy to report that I was back to my crazy, nail polish magpie ways this week. I’ve been putting a pretty good dent in my “never before worn” pile, although I seem to continue adding new polishes to it. I’m not sure I’ll ever reach the end. I just got in ten new polishes today (6 Zoyas from the Earth Day exchange/sale and 4 China Glazes from an e-tailer).

Clearly, I have a problem. Clearly, I love having this problem. Oh yeah … Denial: not just a river in Egypt.

Here’s what I wore this week:

26071337704_9600292132

First up this week was Glam Polish, “Bad Hair Day”. Glam Polish designated this as their “alopecia awareness” polish. The moment I saw that, I HAD to get this one. I would have purchased it even if it had been a horrible, ugly color that I hated (not that such a thing is even possible with Glam Polish, as everything on their website is AMAZING and beautiful!!). I know the emotional and mental struggle that comes with losing your hair, as I have had to deal with this in my own life. I don’t have alopecia, but I do have PCOS. And, one of the things PCOS likes to take from you is your hair. I think losing one’s hair would be horrible and traumatic for anyone, man or woman. But, as a woman, I have to say I found it particularly difficult because society puts so much pressure on us ladies to have gorgeous, perfect hair. If, for some reason, you don’t have those full and flowing locks, it’s like the people around you seem to feel you are less of a woman. Or less of a person. Or something. It was awful. Not just the losing my hair part, but the comments, criticisms, and “helpful” (not) advice about it. I think the “helpful” advice was the worst part, because, basically, unless someone can figure out a way to make my ovaries work the way they are supposed to, my hair is never going to be society’s idea of perfection. I’m lucky, because my hair has started to come back in. My little bald patch is shrinking. But I know there are other people, both my PCOS “cysters” and people who suffer from alopecia, who are not as lucky. So I had to show my solidarity with them. Also, huge, huge props to Glam Polish for putting this polish out there and calling attention to this devastating condition.

Okay, now that my whole soapbox thing is done … Look at this polish! LOOK AT IT!!! Oh my googley-gosh, but it is so freaking beautiful. Can you see the rainbows in there from the holographic micro glitter? Can you? Can you? Plus, I adore the deep, rich, dark blue base on this one. Seriously … I can’t even. Can’t even. This polish makes me want to scream in joy and flail on the floor in polish junkie abandon. I waited a while before wearing this, just because it is kind of dark and I was in “spring colors” mode. But, it is definitely my favorite out of my order. I could not stop staring at my nails when I wore this, and I can’t wait to wear it again. Love, love, love, love … so much love!!!

26062262274_e96f2a8a6f

Sinful Colors, “Butter Kup”. This is one of the new Kylie Jenner “Trend Matters” colors. I actually have no thoughts on Kylie Jenner one way or the other, meaning I’m not a fan but also I’m not “not” a fan. (Did that even make sense? Am I still typing English here?) Her name being associated with this polish isn’t what made me go out and get it. (And I actually had to search through two Targets before I found it, believe it or not.) I saw an online review of this entire line, and the colors looked so beautiful and unique because of the little bits of shimmer running through them. I thought most of the pastels were very pretty and feminine looking, and perfect for Spring. Plus, I love me some Sinful Colors. So, off I went in search of the collection. I think I managed to find 3 or 4 of them. So far, I’ve worn this one and one other (“Kool as a Kukumber”), and I only bothered to take pictures of this one.

What can I say? I was really disappointed in this polish. In fact, this one kind of made me want to cry in sadness and frustration. I love the color. I don’t think it shows up well in my picture, but the shimmer in this polish is really pretty. I also like how delicate the color is on the nail. But … but, but, but … This polish was a booger-bear to apply. I am not a manicure noob, and I struggled with this polish. I had to take it off my nails and start over again at least twice. It went on really chunky and streaky, all at the same time. If I did thin coats, it wasn’t as chunky, but it also wasn’t nearly opaque even at four coats. If I did thicker coats, the shimmer chunked everything up. I wasn’t happy with how it ended up for this picture, but I was too tired of it to keep trying. Sadly, the light green “Kukumber” one was the same way for me. I’m not sure if it’s me or if I just got a bad bottle or something, but it really put me off the whole line. Bummer.

26062262304_63599e9c21

Next up was OPI, “Gargantuan Green Grape“. This is an oldie but a goodie, although it’s a new one for me. I was so excited when I finally found a bottle of this color that was actually green! Believe it or not, I had been looking for it for quite some time. Originally, I had a bottle of this color that was the mint blue shade. And, in spite of my love of all things blue, I really didn’t like it. There was something about the color and the way it looked on my nails that put me off. I’m not sure I even have the bottle any more. I might have given it away or donated it or something.

This one, though, I really like. I was a bit surprised at the final color after this had dried, because the online swatches I had seen looked more “green”. I feel like my bottle has a more yellow undertone to it. It’s okay, though. I enjoyed the kind of yellow-toned green. It felt very fresh and spring-like on my nails. It had a great formula, too. Not that this comes as any big surprise. This is OPI, after all, and they are usually pretty awesome.

 

26062262364_d9c221f98d

Sadly, shortly after putting this color on my nails, I had a little bit of an incident with some blue dye. It ended up getting in around the edges of my fingernails and a couple of places where I hadn’t realized my topcoat had missed. And, in general, it made my pretty green look kind of dull and drab. I was so bummed.

Seeing as how my manicure was ruined anyhow, I decided to experiment with a little nail art. So I did some designs on my nails with Sharpie markers. Then put a topcoat over it. I didn’t wear this super long (maybe a day), as I’m not much of a nail art person, overall. But it was fun. I think it turned out okay for my first try.

26071337734_b721bc3226

Next up was China Glaze, “Papa Don’t Peach”. This is from the Lite Brites Collection for 2016, and man-oh-man … It is BRIGHT!!! I think this might be the brightest nail color in the universe. Also, please ignore the fact that there is an eeeeeny-teeeeeny bottle clutched in my gigantic man hands in this picture. I got this one, along with a few others from the collection, in a set of minis.

This is not a color I would have expected to wear or like. It doesn’t photograph particularly well, but it’s kind of a coral-peach-orange color with golden shimmer running through it. I tried to get the shimmer in my picture, but it didn’t show up as much as I had hoped. The shimmer really, really shows up on your nails, though. I pretty  much never wear peaches or oranges or corals, so I have no idea what came over me with this color. I loved it the moment I pulled it out of the little mini package. I still think it’s gorgeous, and I got quite a few compliments on it when I wore it. I went on to order a few China Glaze polishes online, and I really debated over whether or not to get a full-sized bottle of this one. In the end, I didn’t because I thought I wouldn’t wear it that much. Now, though, I’m kind of regretting that.

26111188033_0c73ca4c3b

After the crazy brightness of that China Glaze color, I needed a little bit of “calm”. I realized I hadn’t  yet tried out my bottle of Zoya’s “Lake”, so I pulled that one out. It was the perfect little palate cleanser that I needed after all that coral craziness.

This one is from the 2016 “Whispers” collection, and I do love this color. It’s very grayed out, but it has definite blue undertones. It’s soft and pretty. And I think it would go with pretty much everything. It does remind me of a deep and still lake very early in the spring, when the water still has a little bit of that gray color from the winter sky mixed in. I do wish it had a touch more blue color in it, though. If it did, I think it would be pretty close to perfect. Even so, I would have worn this color longer, except I got a huge chip on the middle nail on my right hand. Not a chip in the polish — a chip in my actual  nail! So, the polish couldn’t be saved. And my nails couldn’t be saved. I had to file them back down a bit. It’s okay, though. It was time.

As with all the polishes in the  Whispers collection (at least all the ones I purchased), this didn’t have the greatest formula. It went on kind of streaky, and it was easy to pull polish off of the nail if I accidentally overworked the color. I ended up having to do three coats. I love the color a lot, so it’s not a deal breaker for me with this one. But it did make me feel like things looked a bit “thick” on my nails once I was all done.

26688882046_75e2f4d583

Finally, we have China Glaze, “Let’s Jam!”. I’m not much for purples, but this one is pretty great. I like it a lot, and I can see myself wearing it often. It has a blue shimmer to it, so the color kind of shifts from purple to blue depending on the light. It’s not a strong shift; it’s very subtle. I think it shows up a little bit in the bottle in my picture. But, on my nails in real life, that blue undertone and shimmer was definitely there. I love it! The only thing I don’t love about it is that this color really, really pulled back with my beloved Seche Vite topcoat. So much so that I’m going to end up taking this off in just a little while because part of the color on one of my thumbnails is in danger of lifting right up off the nail. Ugh. I will have to try and remember to wear a different topper with this one next time.

Someone commented today that the color was very bright. I guess it is a little bit of a bright color. If it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be worthy of being in the “Lite Brites” collection, right? Still, I don’t feel like this is an eye-searing, in-your-face kind of bright. It feels a little bit subdued, but still very fun for Summer.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

    • Thanks! The flowers were a fun little experiment. I don’t think I will wear art on my nails that often. I think I’m mostly a plain nails kind of gal … But I will likely bust out the Sharpies again in the future. I was happy with how it turned out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

