My Week in Nails

It was a slower-than-usual (or slower-than-I-like) blogging week for me. I only managed to get two posts in, one of them being this weekly nail polish wrap-up. I’ve already blogged about the sore eye socket (ewww! gross!) thing. That was one of the reasons, as it’s hard to blog – or even think – when your eye socket hurts. But this week was kind of a rough week, all around. I shall probably blog about it in the coming week. Maybe. I don’t know. I might just want to forget any of it ever happened, so I haven’t made up my mind. But I probably will. Blog, that is.

Anyhow, it was a slow nail week, too. Believe it or not, I only have THREE manicures to show you. I know. This is a shock. The rough week meant not as much time for my nails. But, also, I had a couple of colors this week that I loved, loved, loved. I started out the week with Glam Polish’s “Windchill”, which I showed in my last week wrap-up. I love that polish so much that I didn’t want to take it off. I wore it from some time on Friday until Monday evening, when I couldn’t ignore the tip wear any longer. My second manicure for this week was also a favorite. I did not want to take it off, either. I put it on either late Monday evening or Tuesday morning, and wore it all the way until Thursday. Again, until I couldn’t ignore the tip wear any longer.

So, there you go. Let the (extremely paltry) week in polish begin. Huzzah!

26303608440_fab99a33f5

This is China Glaze, “You’re Too Sweet” on top of SpaRitual, “Melt With You”. I was super excited about doing this manicure. I loved the way these two polishes looked next to each other in their respective bottles. And I just knew — I KNEW!! — it was going to be a fabulous, fabulous manicure.

It wasn’t. I hated the way this looked on my nails. HATED IT. The glitter came out too sparsely, and I feel like all the pretty pinkness in it was completely lost. I should have tried this one over a lighter color, like a white or a maybe a light gray. Even a lighter pink might have been better. Ah well. Live and learn. I like both polishes individually, though. I just didn’t feel like they mixed together the way I wanted them to. Also, the SpaRitual polish chipped almost immediately. I fixed the first chip. But then, it chipped again in a different place. Needless to say, I didn’t wear this manicure for very long. I’m not sure I had it on for even a whole day. Also, the dark pink stained my nails. They already had blue stains on them from last week. Now the stains are kind of purple. Ugh.

26303608530_33551464a7

This is China Glaze, “Can You Sea Me?” on top of OPI, “Funny Bunny”. This manicure was LOVE. It seems so silly because it’s really a very simple manicure, but I adored this one. I love this glitter because of the mix of small blues and the larger holographic circles/hexagons. I wish the larger pieces came out of the mix a bit easier, but that might be my fault for not mixing it a bit better before applying. Even without trying, though, I got quite a few of the larger pieces scattered on my nails. And there was lots of the small blue glitter.

This mani made me so, so, so happy. And this week, that was an extremely big deal. I loved the contrast of the blue with the white. And the circle/hex glitters caught the sun “just right” to make pretty rainbow reflections on my nails. Every time I looked down at it, this made me feel happy inside. I didn’t want to take it off. And so … I wore the heck out of it! Until yesterday, when I realized the tips of my pinky nails were beyond repair. I felt a little bit sad taking it off, honestly.

25973602163_73ed07ee79

This is OPI, “I Am What I Amethyst”. I put this one on yesterday, after taking off my previous manicure. I expected to feel sad and disappointed with it, just because I loved my previous mani so so much. But I was pleasantly surprised. I quite love this one. I think it’s supposed to be a sort of dusty purple (because of “amethyst” being in the name), but it looks blue to me. I love blue, so I’m letting my mind stay there. If I wore something purple next to it, though, I think it would probably look purple or lavender.

This is from the 2016 “Soft Shades” collection. I fell hard for that collection the first time I saw it swatched online. I started looking for it in all my usual brick and mortar places, but no one had it. I looked, I know, for a good two or three weeks. Finally, I decided to order the colors I wanted online. Of course, right after I did this, the polishes appeared in my local stores. Whatever. I still got a better price. Even with shipping, I saved about $14 USD. And I had my polishes a smidge earlier than I would have, otherwise. I’m putting it in the “win” column.

I think this color is going to be a favorite of mine over the long run. It’s such a beautifully muted and soft color. I had to use three coats before I was comfortable with the opacity, which is a draw back, but that will not keep me from wearing and loving this polish. It’s one of those colors that I really like to see on my nails.

 

3 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

  1. I love this post, and the pictures of each different nail polish on your nails were great. I really like the second picture with the blue glitter and pick nail polish as well. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

