My Week in Nails

26107769370_cd684c14b5

Sinful Colors (Sinful Shine), “Prosecco”

I have to say I was a little bit “meh” about this color. I thought it was really pretty in the bottle. It looked like a sort of chocolate brown with some really pretty golden shimmers running through it. I thought it would be a fun change from all the pastel shades I’ve been wearing lately. You know, kind of like cleansing your palate in between dinner courses or something.

It … didn’t work out quite as I had planned. The color was pretty enough on my nails, but I was a little disappointed in the shade of brown. It didn’t look as rich on my nails as it did in the bottle. I felt like there was a bit of a gray undertone to the brown, and I wasn’t expecting that. The golden shimmer is super pretty, though. And it really shows up on the nail.

Overall, it wasn’t a total bust. I still like the color, and I’m looking forward to trying it out again later on, maybe a bit closer to Fall. I’m thinking I might not have been over the pastels, after all. I have been in a bit of a “Spring” mood lately, in spite of my horrible allergies.

26107686010_b92fcb8b92

Nine Zero Lacquer, “Annual March Blizzard”

So, I was in the worst mood on Saturday. It was just a crummy day, all around, filled with lots of little, nagging bothers that all kind of piled up together to create one big annoyance that hung over the entire day. To cheer myself up, I decided to bust out the last color I had from my previous Nine Zero Lacquer order. I loved it so much in the bottle, and I think I was waiting for just the right time to wear it.

This color is SO PRETTY!! So pretty!! I wanted to squeal in happiness as I was putting it on. I didn’t, because my friend was over visiting (we were doing manicures), and I didn’t want to seem weird. Or, well, “weirder”. Or … something.

Anyhow, I love, love, LOVE this color so much. It is so chilly and sparkly and such a pretty shade of cool blue. It made me feel super girly and delicate when I had it on my nails. Plus, it cheered me right up. Also, as I was putting this polish on, I looked out my window and saw snowflakes falling. In April! True story.

26314312111_73405fc8e4

OPI, “The I’s Have It”

I was in absolute and total nail polish junkie lust with OPI’s new “Through the Looking Glass” collection from the very first moment I saw swatches of it online. I looked everywhere for it for a couple of weeks with no luck at all. And so, I ended up ordering it from a new-to-me online store. I ended up getting three polishes from the collection: the two blues and the gold glitter polish. And, of course, I had to put this one on immediately after it arrived. Immediately!! I was so incredibly excited about these polishes!

This one … happy sigh. It was love at first sight. Seriously. This one ticks all of my happy boxes, and I think I will end up wearing it a lot. It’s such a gorgeously perfect shade of blue. It reminds me of the spring sky. The formula was lovely, too. It applied pretty smoothly, with only very minor streaking on the first coat. This might have had more to do with my application technique than the polish itself. I think I overworked it a little bit. I wanted to whisper sweet nothings to this polish. I might have actually told it how much I loved it and asked it to spend the rest of its life with me. Is that weird? No … don’t answer that.

26436254395_2591162c53

 

OPI, “Fearlessly Alice”

Oh, Fearlessly Alice … how I loved you from the first moment I saw your bottle. You are such a beautiful shade of blue. I wanted to wear you for forever. And then, when I went to take you off, I thought I actually would have to wear you forever. In fact, a few days and two colors later, I am still wearing you on my nails. Because you stuck around. And around. And around.

Yep. This one stained like a mother. Even though I wore two (TWO!!) coats of base coat underneath it. Ugh.

I was so, so, so disappointed in this polish. This was the one I was most looking forward to in my “Looking Glass” order, and it was just a bitter, bitter disappointment. I could cry big, sad, broken-hearted polish junkie tears over it. In fact, I think I actually did shed a few tears when I saw the stains it left behind. I haven’t read or seen anything about staining in any of the online reviews of this polish, so I don’t know what the deal is. Maybe my nails just reacted weirdly with the formula. Or maybe I got a bad bottle. Overall, I didn’t like the way this one applied. It came out of the bottle really thick, even from the very first time I opened the polish. It applied thick and lumpy in some spots and very streaky in others. So … yeah. Super unhappy with this one.

26163377440_989e2cea9a

Glam Polish, “I Got My Eye on You”

This was my first time ever ordering from Glam Polish. I, of course, picked out three different blues. This is me we’re talking about, after all. And blues are my peanut butter and jelly. I ordered a light, a medium, and a dark polish.

This one is the medium-toned blue out of the bunch. When I was waffling back and forth over which one to try first, my daughter picked out this one. She said it was her favorite out of the order, so I should try it first. And you know what? She was right!

This polish was like … Wowza! It was pow-pow-pow on my nails, and I loved every moment of it. I caught myself staring at it several times. I love the color — such a wonderful blue. And the color shifting glitter/shimmer thing happening in this polish is fantastic. I loved it so much that I wore it for two whole days. That’s saying a lot for a polish magpie like me!

26370002871_0ecc088678

Glam Polish, “Windchill”

I was so enamored of this polish when I saw it on the Glam Polish website. It was immediate, shiny-eyed lust. The pictures of it were just so, so, so beautiful. This was the polish I was most looking forward to out of my order. I could not wait to see it in person.

When it arrived and I got my first in-person look at the bottle, I have to admit I was a little bit disappointed. I love how light the color is, but, overall, I was just a little “meh” about it. It seemed almost too dusty. And the little flakies were … well, too “flakey”.

However … On the nail, it looks completely different. I. Love. It. Yes, that’s right. I have changed my tune. I love this polish like a cat loves a new catnip mouse. For anyone not acquainted with cats, that’s a whole lot of lovin’ going on. The color is so light and smooth. It’s almost airy, in a way.  And there is pretty, pretty color changing glitter that shifts and flashes in the sun. And those flakies? They are FANTASTIC!! I love the way they give the polish a little bit of extra “oomph”.

Leave a Reply

