My Week in Nails

I realize I’m a day early with this post, but it’s been a bit of a crazy, spazzy, nutso kind of polish week for me. I was plagued this week with the twin demons of “indecisiveness” and “short attention span”. I’m still working my way through my new-to-me stash of polishes. And I had a hard time deciding just what I wanted to wear on my nails, which added up to pretty much nothing staying on for very long. I can’t even tell you how many times I put on a color in the morning thinking to myself, “Self, we LOVE this! It’s great!” … only to look at it a day later (or sometimes even sooner than that) and have my Self grumble, “Nope. Not feeling this one. At all.” I was like a magpie on shiny crack this week. None of this was helped by my almost compulsive polish addiction, which has forced me — forced me, I tell ‘ya!! — to shop a couple of times this week and add new stuff to this little stash of yet-to-be-worn colors. It’s a disease!! Not that I want a cure or anything, but …

So I feel I should be a bit embarrassed about how often I switched out my nail polish this week. And yet, I’m not. Because some weeks are just like this. *ahem*

nativewarpaints-dancingonclouds1-sm

I started off my week with Native War Paints, “Dancing on the Clouds”. I. Love. This. Polish. Love it! The polish felt kind of thick to me as it came out of the bottle, but it was pretty sheer going onto my nails. Which is weird. I ended up doing 3 coats, which is unusual for me. But, overall, I was super happy with it. This color feels so ethereal and pretty and fresh to me. Having it on my nails made me feel special, happy, and oh-so-girly. It has such a beautiful color shift, too. I was all, “Is it blue? Is it grey? Is it purple? Is it silver?” And the answer to all of these is a resounding … YES! It’s like fairy magical nail polish. And, if I hadn’t been such a polish magpie this week, I probably could have worn this color all week long and been very content.

opi-makingwaves1-sm

Next, I moved on to OPI, “This Color’s Making Waves”. I have a kind of love-hate thing going with this polish. I love that it immediately made me think “mermaid nails”. What could be better than that? Yeah, really nothing. Maybe unicorn nails, but whatever. Also, this color shifts from a really pretty blue (which you can see in the bottle) to a sort of more greenish color (which you can see on my nails in this picture). I loved that and thought it was beautiful, kind of like watching the ocean in different lights. But … Do  you see the pretty sort of coppery-pinkish shimmer in the bottle? I really, really, really wanted to see that on my nails. It’s the whole entire reason I bought this polish. Because I saw that coppery-pinkish shimmer and was like, “Wait. Why do I not own this?!?” Sadly, as you can see from my picture, the pretty shimmer didn’t turn out on my nails at all. I was so disappointed in that.

I still like this color a lot. And I will wear it again. Maybe later in the summer or early fall. Just, right now, I wasn’t feeling it. Especially after the whole shimmer let-down.

nativewarpaints-onceupondream1-sm

This is Native War Paints, “Once Upon a Dream”.  Like my other polish from Native War Paints, this one felt thick coming out of the bottle. But it applied really smoothly. I like the feeling and texture to these polishes, and I hope to get more in the future. I’m super new to the whole indie polish thing, so I don’t have a lot of experience with any of the indie brands. This color is beautiful. I like it a lot, and it has a pretty sort of shift/shimmer to it, although I felt like it was kind of understated. This is not necessarily a bad thing. After seeing swatches of this online, I was expecting it to be more blue-toned, but mine seems to lean more to the green. Again, not necessarily a bad thing. Just surprising to me.

I did like this one a lot, but not as much as “Dancing on the Clouds”.

pureice-itscomplicated1-sm

This is a glitter topper I picked up this week. It’s called “It’s Complicated”, from Pure Ice. I saw some videos of Pure Ice’s Fairy Tale collection and fell in lust with a couple of the colors in that collection. So, off to Wal-Mart I went in the hopes that I might get lucky and find a straggler bottle hanging out on the back of a shelf or something. Of course, I had no luck with that. From what I understand, the Fairy Tale Collection was super limited and only out for a short while. *sigh*

But (!!) this wild and crazy glitter topper caught my eye. I love the different shapes and colors in here. I don’t normally think of myself as a “glitter person”, but I might be starting to change that a bit. I wore it over “Once Upon a Dream” and thought it looked fantastic. But I think this topper would look beautiful over pretty much any color. I’m looking forward to wearing it over a white or a light gray or light pink.

pureice-wideawake1-sm

This is Pure Ice, “Wide Awake”. Pure Ice is a totally new brand to me. I love that it’s super cheap. The store I went to didn’t have a wide selection of colors, unfortunately.

I LOVE this blue. It’s so bright and pretty and kind of in-your-face. I really wanted to wear it on its own, so I tried it without layering. Big mistake. After four coats, it still hadn’t built up enough to make me happy. So, I ended up taking it off after only a couple of hours. For one thing, I hated still seeing bare patches in amongst the glitter. For another, we’re talking 1 coat of base + 4 coats of polish + 2 coats of topper = 7 layers of stuff (!!) on my nails. It was just too much. Next time, I’m going to try layering this one over a darker blue.

pureice-heartsonfire1-sm

Yet another glitter topper. This is Pure Ice, “Hearts on Fire”. I wore it over OPI, “Suzi Shops & Island Hops”.

I have mixed feelings about this one. I bought it because it was cheap and because I loved how it looked in the bottle. It has all these cute little light pink and white hexagons, and smaller glitters that are silver and red, and red hearts. RED HEARTS!!! Yep, the hearts totally sold me on this one. But, the hearts are super hard to get out of the bottle and onto the nail. With two coats of polish on all ten of my nails, I managed to get ONE heart. One! It was a big disappointment.

Also, I wish I had worn this one over something other than the pink that I chose. This one has a red tint to it, so it really changed my pink color a lot. And not in a way I liked. I think this one would feel better to me over white. This one also stained one of my pinky nails a little bit when I removed it.

cnd-peacockplume1-sm

Rounding out my week is CND Vinylux, “Peacock Plume”.

Happy, happy, happy sigh. The moment I put this polish on this afternoon, I was like, “Yep! That’s it. I’m done for the week.” I know it’s kind of a dark color for Spring, but I think I might have needed a break from all the lighter colors I’ve been wearing recently. I don’t know. But this polish just gives me the happy, happy feels. I don’t usually pay much attention to wearing seasonally appropriate polishes. I like to wear darks in spring/summer and lights in fall/winter. Basically, I just like to wear what I like when I like it. This one is definitely going to be one of those dark colors that I wear a lot, and that I wear all year long. I love, love, love, LOVE it. So, so much.

It has such a pretty, dramatic, and moody look to it. I particularly love how it falls into the teal category (at least, to me), but it’s a blue-leaning teal, instead of green. I don’t have anything like this one, and it’s a polish I had looked at many times in the past. But, for whatever reason, I always walked away without buying it. I guess the timing wasn’t right back then. But, today, the polish stars aligned, and I’m so glad they did. I think this one is going to manage to stay on my nails for a little while. (At least until Saturday –ha, ha!)

 

2 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

  1. oh my days! I read the first line of this post, then remembered I’ve had a bottle of nail polish in my pocket all morning (short attention span) to remind me to paint my nails. (I do this before typing — it’s a *safe* way of drying them). Love the blues too!!

    • Ha, ha! I have a short attention span, too. But in my case, it causes me to paint my nails *too often*. 😉 I’m glad I’m not the only polish fan out here. Blues are always my favorite. That’s my happy color.

Leave a Reply

