Nailing It This Week …

So, yeah … Totally punny and ridiculous title here. Sorry, not sorry. (OK, maybe a little sorry.)

I feel like my blog has been dark and silent for too long. I’ve wanted to come back to it at least a dozen or more times over the past many, many months. And yet, I kept thinking that, maybe, it was better for me to leave it be. If it was dead and gone, better to leave it that way, instead of resurrecting it into some kind of zombie thing. Anyhow, more on that later, I’m sure. This isn’t the post for it.

Over the past week or so, I decided to try with a twice-a-week posting schedule. I am hoping to hit my blog on Mondays and Fridays, and the plan is to do a “substantive” sort of post on Monday and then round out the week on Friday with a fun and frivolous post. Nothing is more fun and frivolous to me than nail polish, so I decided each Friday post would be devoted to my nail polish adventures during the preceding week.

I am definitely NOT a nail blogger. Or a beauty blogger (perish the thought, as I seldom even wear make-up, so I can’t think of anyone more ill-suited). I am just a gal who loves doing her nails — a lot. So, I’m not promising perfect pictures or any huge insight or anything like that. I am hoping for these posts to be a fun way for me to end out my week chatting aimlessly about something I love.

I have no idea why I feel the need to have an introduction or explanation. (Mental note: explore this in a future blog post — ha, ha!), but there you go. Intro/explanation out of the way: check!

This past week was a bit of a nail polish frenzy for me. I think I changed out my polish around every day or every other day, at the most. I ended up getting a large (for me) amount of polish, and I had this “gotta try them all, RIGHT NOW!” urge. So, it all added up to a very strange and fun polish week.

Here’s what I wore:

orly-jealousmuch1-sm

I started out the week with Orly’s “Jealous Much?”. I don’t usually go for green shades, but what can I say? It’s feeling more and more like Spring around here. My allergies and the *lovely* spring cold I caught both seem to agree. And this is a super pretty, soft green that caught my eye when I was browsing at my local Sally’s. I think it’s a very pretty color. It reminds me of celery … or lettuce … or some other softly green vegetable that cute little, fuzzy bunny rabbits might eat.

opi-strangertides1-sm

OPI, “Stranger Tides”. I know this (like most of what I wear) is an older polish, but I wasn’t really back into polish when this collection came out. Anyhow, I read so many great things about this polish … and then, I saw so many pictures of it online … and I HAD TO HAVE IT. I looked all over the place for it before finally finding it hanging out on the shelf at my local Target (of all places — crazy!).

Do I love it as much as I thought I would? Meh. I’m not sure. I think I could grow to love it. It’s an unusual color, but it is kind of “ugly-pretty”. I think I will like it more toward late Summer or early Fall. And, maybe, layered over with a gold glitter topper.

My daughter HATES this polish, by the way. She took one look at it and told me to go inside and take it off. Immediately. The cruelty of youth. *sigh*

orly-kissthebride1-sm

Orly, “Kiss the Bride”. I am constantly searching for my “perfect” light/baby pink color. There is a CND Vinylux pink I love, and that one might be my perfect mid-tone pink. Is this one my perfect light/baby pink color? I don’t know yet. I need to wear it some more, and for a longer period of time. But I did like it a lot. It also applied really well, which is a HUGE plus.

Bonus picture of a little “doticure” I did with my “Kiss the Bride” pink:

art-orly-kissbride-doticure1-sm

fingerpaints-heartauction1-sm

Next, I moved on to Fingerpaints, “He-art Auction”. I don’t necessarily think of myself as a “glitter” kind of gal, but there is something about Spring that brings it out in me. The glitter and the pink … and this polish has both. Score! I decided to wear it right after “Kiss the Bride” because I wanted to see how it did layered over that color. It worked pretty well together, although I want to try this color on its own in the future.

This manicure didn’t even last a whole day because there were about 6-7 coats of polish + topcoat on my nails at this point, and it just felt too thick and unwieldy.

orly-beachcruiser1-sm

Orly, “Beach Cruiser”. As you can see, I kept to a rather pink theme during the week. Spring, I’m still blaming you for this!

This color is … bright. Like, really really really REALLY bright. I am not sure if I like it or not. My daughter also hated this one. She has assured me that bright colors are lovely but, in her words, “not for you, Mom”. I don’t know if I should take this as gospel or keep trying. However, I do have this whole huge bottle of this polish now, so I will probably wear it again a few more times before I make up my mind. I think it would be a fun mid- to late- summer polish.

zoya-eastyn1-sm

Zoya, “Eastyn”. I waited for Zoya’s “Whispers” collection to hit my local Ulta for months. Seriously, I must have gone in there a hundred times just to see if these polishes were in stock yet or had arrived yet. They never showed up. Most of the sales people didn’t even know what the Whispers collection was. So, I finally gave up on finding them in the store, and ordered directly from  Zoya. I should have just done that in the first place. So much easier.

I love the dusty, gray purpleness of this color. It’s so calm, serene, and pretty. And yet, there is something about it that kind of reminds me of an Easter egg. Not those garish ones, but a very elegant, artisan sort of Easter egg. I’m positive this makes no sense at all. However, when I put this on, my daughter noticed and said, “Well, I’m glad you FINALLY decided to do something sensible with your nails.” Oh yeah. Kid Approved.

chinaglaze-dashboarddreamer1-sm

And finally … finally (!!) my last polish for the week, and the one I currently have on my nails. China Glaze, “Dashboard Dreamer”.

I don’t think anyone at all out in the internet world liked this polish or this collection. I can’t remember reading or watching (because, yes, I am totally addicted to nail videos — it’s a sickness …) anything positive about this polish. At all. Ever. Anywhere.

And you know what? They were all absolutely correct. This polish is hard to build up. It’s difficult to work with. It streaks like crazy. It can be a bit runny toward the cuticles. It takes forever to dry. It doesn’t do a good job of leveling out. It pulls with my topcoat. In short, it is a bad, bad, bad, bad horrible polish.

AND I DON’T EVEN CARE! I love, love, love, love, LOVE this color. I looked for this polish, I know, for several months before finally breaking down and ordering it off of Amazon. (I know … terrible!) I had a little mini bottle, but I would never wear it because I didn’t want it to run out. And I couldn’t ever find it anywhere. But now, I have my own, full-size bottle in all its glorious messiness. Ugh. I’m such a happy nail junkie!

6 thoughts on “Nailing It This Week …

Leave a Reply

