Fat Suit

raindrops5

I wear a fat suit
Made of my own skin.
It’s not who I am
It’s not where I’ve been.

My Fat Girl can laugh
Oh, how she can love!
Her heart soft and frail
Gentle like a dove.

My Fat Girl is strong
She is brave and true.
None of that matters
Means nothing to you.

You are quick to tease
And also to mock.
No thought in your head
Toss your verbal rock.

You watch what she eats
Eat this, don’t eat that.
Pretend to give help
She don’t know she’s fat.

Fat Girl has beauty
And she has pride, too.
She hides from the world
Keep them safe from you.

My Fat Girl pretends
Holds her head up high.
She won’t let you see
Your words make her cry.

Does the universe
Give you right to judge
Fat Girl’s whole being
Based on outside pudge?

You do not know her
You don’t have a clue.
Fat’s the look of things
And not what is true.

I wear a fat suit
Made of my own skin.
It’s not who I am
It’s not where I’ve been.

2 thoughts on “Fat Suit

  1. “You are a soul. You are a mind. You are not fat. You have fat. You also have fingernails, but you aren’t fingernails, are you? You have hair, but you aren’t hair, are you? You have fat, but you are not fat. You are beautiful.” Wish I’d written that. I traced it back through a few blog posts, but can’t figure out who the original author is, so I won’t give anyone else credit, either. 🙂 I don’t care who said it first, its true.

    Hugs.

Leave a Reply

