Goin’ to the Chapel

Tonight, I am waxing a bit nostalgic about my wedding day. I pulled out our wedding album a few days ago to do a little photo shoot with my new rings set and ended up spending a couple of hours looking through the whole thing with my daughter. We no longer live in the same state as our extended families, so it seems the only way my daughter is going to “know” her aunts, uncles, and cousins is through pictures. And then, there are the very sentimental pictures of my husband’s grandfather, who passed away a few years ago.

It’s funny the things one remembers from such a long-ago day. I don’t remember the way the air smelled or what the weather was like (other than knowing it was nice, overall, because we had an outdoor reception). I don’t remember all the words that were said during the ceremony. I don’t remember every word of our vows, although I always thought I would remember that particular detail. I don’t even remember everyone who was there to share our big day with us.

wedding photo with ringsI remember feeling nervous, in spite of the fact that my husband and I had already been together for eight years at this point. I remember almost tripping over the hem of my dress as my dad and I started down the aisle. I remember my dad’s hand, placed so gently over mine in the crook of his arm, as if I were the greatest treasure he had ever possessed and he had to take the utmost care. I remember how, when we reached the front of the church, my dad held on for just a few moments longer than expected. Maybe he was reluctant to let go. I wonder if it was hard for him to turn away and sit down, knowing another man would now be so prominent in my life. I remember how uncomfortable my shoes were. I hated those shoes. My mother picked them out; I wanted to wear tennis shoes. No one would see them under my dress, anyhow, I reasoned. But she insisted I had to have “nice, ladylike” shoes. I remember thinking my hair was too tall. I still think that, looking back at these pictures, but, again, I didn’t pick out the “wedding day hairstyle”, either. I remember bubbles floating through the air, chased by laughter and funny stories during the reception. I remember beautiful sunshine and warm, golden-tinged thoughts of those I loved the most. I remember my husband’s hand shaking a little bit as he slipped the wedding band onto my finger.

wedding photo with ringsI remember standing there, in the dark entry of the church … feeling nervous and unsure … clinging to my daddy’s arm and looking at what seemed like the longest aisle in history laid out before me. I remember thinking to myself, “There’s no way I can do this. There’s no way I can make this walk in front of all these people.”

And then, my husband turned around. He saw me for the first time in my wedding dress, standing there. It was like time stood still for those few moments that we looked into each other’s eyes. As if he and I were the only two people in the universe. And he smiled — a smile that told me everything would be all right, as long as we were together … a smile that melted my heart and gave me butterflies all at the same time … a smile that didn’t promise perfection but spoke of years of laughter and love and good memories to come.

And that is my favorite memory of all.

rings with wedding album cover

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goin’ to the Chapel

    • thanks! it was a nice day with lots of good memories. mostly, i can’t believe it was so darn long ago now – ha, ha!

      the rings aren’t the original ones i got at my wedding, so i thought taking pictures of them with the photos would kind of make them feel part of that day, too. plus, a little photo practice is always a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

