Ghosts of Christmas Past

And so, another Christmas draws to a close. Well, sort of. One of the many things I enjoy about being Catholic is that Christmas isn’t officially over at midnight on December 25. But, for most of the world, it seems the hustle and bustle of trying to get stuff done and baked and decorated and so on all leads up to today. And, once December 25 is over, it can feel like a bit of a let-down.

our Christmas tree, 2013I’ve always rather liked this time after Christmas and before New Year. It feels as if the whole world has gone mad and all whirly around me as I struggle to meet impossible deadlines and my own equally impossible expectations. And then, the “big day” arrives. No matter how much I failed to accomplish, Christmas is always lovely and nice. It’s one of those holidays that are so much about feelings and the warmth and beauty of those around us. And love. So, so much love. Given all of that, what does it matter that I didn’t get the cards mailed out or that some of the packages will be late or that, maybe, the star on top of our tree tilts to the left a little bit too much? Because, in the end, it turns out that everything is perfect, just the way it is.

And then, once the gifts are open, the big meal is eaten, church is attended, praises are sung, candles are lit, toasts are made, things feel … different, somehow. I don’t know how to explain it, other than to say it feels as if my house breathes a big sigh of happiness and relief before it settles around us, hunkering down to shelter us for the coming days. There are still stories to tell and people to call and jokes and laughter and all of the good stuff to come. But it feels … gentler … softer, somehow. It’s a good feeling. Comfortable and kind.

Could it be the Ghosts of Christmas Past? Sometimes, I think, if I listen hard enough, I can just hear the echo of their laughter or a carol sung long ago. If so, I hope they come in to sit for a while and get warm. And maybe, leave with a smile and a promise to come again next year. Just for a bit.

Christmas dog under glass. 2013

5 thoughts on “Ghosts of Christmas Past

  1. What a lovely post. My home is a converted miners cottage built in 1902. All the hot, happy Christmases that were celebrated in this dear little house. In the beginning by people who would have found the heat quite shocking but now it is the norm and the children are shrieking outside with their giant ‘super soaker” water pistols. We attend the Uniting Church and this year was the first time my son didn’t attend sunday School so no starring role in the nativity!

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to read, and for your kind comment. 🙂

      Sounds like you have plenty of “Ghosts of Christmas Past” in your house, too. I think they are the best ones to have around, as they always bring a smile to my face. I love the vivid imagery of your kids outside with the super soaker. What fun!! I hope you and yours had (and are continuing to have) a wonderful holiday.

  2. you write really well! i usually get bored reading posts regarding people’s personal lives but yours came off to me as something like a novel. it’s really enjoyable reading your blog 🙂

    • Thank you for the kind words. I can understand what you mean when you say a blog about a personal life could be boring. I worry about that with my blog. A lot! I try to even things out with poetry or a short story here and there … but it seems like the personal stuff tends to creep in more often than not, especially when I try to blog every day. I guess it’s because that’s where I’m living at this moment. IN the moments, so to speak. But I always think, “Ugh. Why am I posting this? No one is going to care, and they’ll be bored.” >.O

      Anyhow, I guess the point I’m trying (however clumsily) to make is that I appreciate your reassuring words. It’s great to know you weren’t bored in reading the post, and it gives me the hope that I can manage to be not boring in a future entry, too. Believe me, I think my life is mostly pretty ho-hum — LOL!

Leave a Reply

