The Hamster in My Brain

So, I had this lovely post idea all about how wonderful and cozy rainy days can be. Because, at the time I thought of this idea, it was raining. A lot. Unfortunately, life got in the way, and I didn’t manage to write it while it was still raining. Once the rain stopped, my post idea, which had seemed so lovely and appropriate while the drops were falling, kind of fizzled. (It’s raining again today, though, so my “rainy day” post may still happen. More on that anon — I hope.)

After that, I decided I would write a completely different post. This idea, too, hit home with the force of a thousand hammers ringing against the steel trap of my mind. “Self,” I said, “This … THIS(!!) will be a wonderful post. A fun post. The post of the century.” And my Self replied, “Yes, I think so, too! Let’s do it!!” This was particularly exciting, because my Self is seldom so unequivocally supportive of anything I decide to do. She generally hangs back and reminds me of everything that possibly could go wrong and why whatever it is I want to do falls into the category of a Very Bad Idea. Seriously, she’s no fun at all. Sometimes, I hate her.

Anyhow, finding my Self and me in total agreement, I set off to compose my post ‘o’ golden goodness. I hummed under my breath as I headed over to Flickr to search my photo files for appropriate images, and, as I composed the perfect opening paragraph in my head, I swear I could hear choirs of angels singing in chorus in the background. There is a slim chance this noise was simply the trilling of my phone … but, no. Let’s not go there. This was such a great idea, it deserved a heavenly chorus.

our old and much-loved hamster, Harry Potter Hamster. RIP, HPH

 

A funny thing happened on the way to Flickr. I accidentally ran across a clip from the show Friends. I made the mistake of clicking on said clip, and … Well, really, I can’t bring myself to admit it was truly wrong or a mistake. It was a very funny clip. I enjoyed it a lot. I even LOL’d, but in the real world. That first clip was so funny, I thought to myself, “Self, we’ll just watch one more. One more, and then we will head to Flickr and find our photos.”

Funny Friends clips are like potato chips. Apparently, one can’t be satisfied with “just one more”.ย Three hours and about a hundred clips later, I looked at the clock on my computer, realized it was almost two in the blessed AM, and dashed off to bed, still chuckling under my breath at the zany hijinx of my favorite Friends characters. I told myself I would write my beautifully golden, earth-shattering, universe-preserving post the next day. That way, I could enjoy my moments of happiness without feeling guilty.

And so, here it is — not the next day, or the next, or even the one after that. I am sitting here in front of my computer about four days after my giddy gallop through memory lane via funny Friends clips, finally ready to jot down my lovely thoughts. Isn’t life beautiful and grand? It is, really. Even on the bad days, life is beautiful and grand.

Except … I have no idea what my golden post idea was. That’s right. The perfect, beautiful, chorus-from-heaven post idea has left the building, folks. I’ve racked my brain, trying to remember it. I’ve looked through all the scraps of paper containing random notes scattered over my desk. Nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Which is why you are now sitting here, reading … this.

I can only apologize, from the bottom of my heart. And, of course, face up to the only conclusion possible, based on the foregoing events. That’s right: My brain is powered by one very cute hamster, tripping along on one very squeaky wheel. And right now, he’s laughing his furry butt off and feeling oh-so-smug about life. The angelic chorus from a few days ago? At the moment, it sounds more like: “squeaky-squeaky-squeaky”.

10 thoughts on “The Hamster in My Brain

  1. I don’t know what the celestial choirs were hoping for from you — but I will say this post made me laugh out loud at my desk. Thank you! Hugs.

    • LOL! I love it!! I didn’t think about whether or not that shot would show up in the tiny gravatar size. I’ve looked at it for so long I can’t see it any other way. Too funny!

      That is a picture of our first hamster, Harry Potter Hamster. He was a Russian Dwarf and just about the sweetest hamster on the planet. He is dearly missed, particularly because he had a short life (as most dwarf hamsters do). Our current hamster, Brownie (aka “Frownie Brownie”) looks much the same, except for the sweet facial expression. He is rather mean-spirited and likes to bite. Needless to say, it appears he shall live forever. ๐Ÿ˜›

      As always, thanks for stopping by and checking out the new post. I am so far behind on WordPress. I need to catch up with your blog!

  2. isn’t” life beautiful and grand? It is, really. Even on the bad days, life is beautiful and grand.”

    yes it is. and your post is a good reminder that it is. Kurt Vonnegut said the best part of life was just “mucking around” and I think he was right.

    • Ha, ha! I’m glad to know I’m not alone in this. I have more than my fair share of “hamster brain moments”, sad to say. It can be frustrating … but, at the same time, I guess we just have to laugh at ourselves a little bit. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for stopping by, taking the time to read, and, especially, for your lovely comment. I appreciate it very much.

Leave a Reply

