Summer of the Dragon

In between runs to camp, swimming practice, piano lessons, and all that other stuff of which Summer seems to be made, I managed to get in touch with a part of me I tend to keep locked away from the rest of the world. I bury this bit of my personality way down deep and hardly ever let her out for fun and snacks. She used to complain, particularly when I took away her chocolate. But now, I think she’s rather given up. I hardly ever hear from her, and I think she is resigned to her marginal existence — a sort of psychological half-life.

But then, there are times when she escapes and runs rampant with the kind of giddy abandon usually seen only in small children and dogs when confronted with a set of sprinklers on a hot day.

My first DragonVale IslandYes, I’m talking about my Inner Addict.

I have one of those obsessive types of personalities. I suppose I come by it honestly, as both of my parents Β have issues with this, too. This is the reason I’ve never tried drugs. It is also the reason I rarely drink and, then, never more than one or two glasses of “whatever”. I’ve never smoked. I’ve never done any of the things that society and our parents warn us against. And the simple reason is that I knew, if I tried something once, there was a good chance I wouldn’t be able to stop.

This summer, I made the mistake of letting my Inner Addict have some playtime. My daughter and hubby both started playing this game called DragonVale. I watched them play, and it was a cute game. It looked like fun. And, let’s face it — dragons! I always wanted a pet dragon as a kid, and here was my chance to have a whole park full of them! What more could one want?

My second island, with Kairos on his perchI had my doubts about whether or not I would enjoy the game. I’m not much of a “gamer”. My husband loves all kinds of video games, and, for years, I would sit with him and watch as he played. Sometimes, if he was playing a war-type game, I would act as his sniper spotter: “Look! Over there! Shoot that guy!” But, other than a brief love affair with Pac Man in my wayward youth, I’ve never played video games on my own.

Well, let me tell you: Now I know why. Because I can’t stop playing! That’s right. I am completely and totally in-love addicted to this goofy game. My Inner Addict is running through my brain, waving her arms in the air and screaming at the top of her lungs: “I’m free!!! I’m free!! Wheeeeee!” It’s not pretty.

My third island in DragonValeIt all started out innocently enough. I had one little island. It was cute and cozy, and I thought to myself, “Hey! This is such fun. I love my little island.” I had a couple of dragons. I bred them. I was excited about waiting for the egg to hatch so that I could see what I might get. I didn’t have any delusions of grandeur. I didn’t expect to get anything fancy like a Rainbow Dragon … or a Gemstone Dragon … or a Moon Dragon … or, well, any of that. I had no plans to expand. I was happy with one little island where my pet dragons could frolic and entertain me.

But then, I decided my island would be pretty with some paths. After that, I outgrew my first couple of habitats and needed more. And decorations. Gotta have decorations, right? Still, things were fairly simple and low key until …

Quite by accident, I bred an “epic” dragon: The Rainbow. And he is AWESOME!!! He is so many pretty colors, and he floats around above my island looking adorably cool. Oh! And he shoots sparkles out of his mouth, too. Sparkles!!! At the first sight of that sparkly Rainbow Dragon, my Inner Addict was hooked, but good.

My gemstone island in DragonValeSo here I am, several islands and many dragons later. My simple, cozy park has expanded to include four regular islands, all criss-crossed with paths and prettied up with various decorations, and a gemstone island. And dragons … dragons … dragons! I have been obsessively playing this game since June 24, and it doesn’t seem like my Inner Addict is going to let go of it any time soon.

Writing? Cleaning the house? Craft projects? Anything not involving racing to and fro in the car and DragonVale? Yeah, who needs it? The rational side of my brain feels guilty, but my Inner Addict keeps telling her to sit back and enjoy the ride. So far, my Inner Addict is winning, big-time. But hey, at least it’s not illegal, right?

Oh! Gotta run … I think my dragons have finished breeding.

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Summer of the Dragon

  1. Rainbow Donkey, meet Rainbow Dragon!

    Sounds like the way I was addicted to video games back in the heydey of the original Nintendo back in the late 80’s! Games like this are why I’m glad I never got into social media… I don’t need that timesuck again! πŸ™‚

    • HaHa! Love that expression “timesuck!” I avoid social media for that reason too although I hadn’t heard it put in such a brilliant way before. Next time I am asked if I have facebook I will reply “No! It is a timesuck!” They will get it! πŸ™‚

    • Ha! Timesuck is exactly right. And oh-so-appropriate. πŸ˜€ My Inner Addict is all, “Pshaw! This is what Summer is for. Wheeeee!” While the Rational Adult Me is cringing in the corner, mumbling, “But I’m supposed to get so much doooone.” *sigh*

      I do love this game, though. I think I am getting better. I managed to write a new short story over the past couple of days. And have been forcing myself to check on the dragons only two or three times a day. This is a definite improvement. (I am ashamed to admit. LOL :D)

  2. Intriguing! I whinge to my girlfriend occasionally “I don’t have enough time!” She (who has 3 children and 2 jobs) replies “time is all we have!” You enjoy your dragons lovely Pish!

    • Ha, ha! I think I might have to hide away from your over-achieving girlfriend. Because I never seem to finish the things I need to get done. And I always feel I don’t have the time. I think the truth is that I’ve spent a huge amount of my life up until now (actually ALL my life until a couple of years ago) doing everything everyone around me wanted me to do or thought I should do. Now, it seems I am rebelling. I have a hard time making myself do stuff I don’t want to do, and I have become the Queen of Disorganization and Procrastination. Ah … my kingdoms. πŸ˜€

      Never fear, though. I shall enjoy those dragons. Woo Hoo! πŸ˜€

      • Not much of a “gamer” I downloaded the Dragonvale app on my pendo pad last night and I now have an egg waiting to hatch! Stay tuned!!!! πŸ™‚

      • Well! I now have a small island in the sky with 3 growing dragons. A fire and an air baby dragon were there and I have hatched another small air dragon. They are all ready to evolve but I need more room to put their evolution temples. We don’t really want to expand so I am working on clearing instead. My son says it good for me to have an addiction. LOL.

      • LOL! Yay for acquiring a new addiction! And your island sounds lovely. You can feed your dragons up to Level 10 without getting a shrine/temple. Wasn’t sure if you were aware of that or not … πŸ˜€

  3. No I wasn’t aware of that. Thanks for the tip. I love them! Instant addiction in my case. I would never in a million years even considered it if you hadn’t mentioned it. I am glad you did. How do you know when the little sweeties need to be fed? I have fed them up to level 4. What level are you up to?

    • You don’t *have* to feed them, if you don’t want to. They have to be at least Level 4 in order to breed. But, if you want to stay at Level 4, that’s quite all right. Most of mine are at Level 10, which is the default max. I have the shrines for Fire, Plant, Lightning, and Cold. Those shrines keep track of how many Level 10 dragons you have for each element. Once you have 50, the shrine activates, letting you level up higher (to level 15, in my case). So, I have mostly level 10, a couple level 11, one level 15, and a couple that are still at level 1. Oh! Be sure to post pics of your island. I would love to see it. πŸ˜€

      • My son informed me that I was accidentally playing “dragon story” on my pendo pad so I then had to try “dragonvale” on my mobile phone. Now I am playing both! In dragonvale I have an earth and a fire dragon. I lke (am addicted to) the way they run in the background while I tear around being Mum, breadwinner, etcetera. πŸ™‚ How do you take pics?

      • Ah! That explains the difference in feeding and the evolution temple thing. I just started playing Dragon Story because I read online that it was comparable to DragonVale. I’ve found I don’t like Dragon Story nearly as much, so I don’t play it that often.

        Anyhow … yay! I’m so happy you’re addicted to games — and to DragonVale, in particular. (Is that wrong of me? LOL :D) I know how to take screen caps for the iPad, but I’m not sure how to do it for your phone. I learned about the iPad ones by googling “screen caps on iPad” … Maybe you could find out how to do it for your phone by doing a similar google search. It was easy to do on iPad, once I found instructions. LOL

      • I have created a monster. I went from o addictions (unless you count chocolate) to 2 addictions DragonVale and Dragonstory. I shall learn how to take pix and get back to you. I am so proud of my dragons I want to show them off. πŸ™‚

      • Yay!! If you want, you can friend me on DragonVale through Game Center. I’m “pishnguyen” on there. I can’t wait to see your dragon beauties. Woo Hoo! πŸ˜€

  4. Love this post! I sometimes have this issue, too… I was playing the Sims FreePlay on my phone a little too much recently when it just stopped working, probably better this way. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you , thank you! πŸ˜€ I’m so relieved it’s not just me who gets completely involved in games. My hubby tried, for years, to get me to play the different Sims games. “You’ll love it. Just try it,” he would say to me. Somehow, I never did it … but, considering how happily (and easily) I got hooked on DragonVale, I think this is probably a good thing. Ha, ha! πŸ˜€

  5. I’m halfway through this awesome story, and Im really enjoying it! (Will finish tonight, as my 3 year old must play “princess and the foul beasts” with her castle. Apparantly Im the beast today.) Keep up the good words!!! Can’t wait to stop in again!

    • Hi! Thanks so much! I am happy you enjoyed this post. I hope you survived your turn at being the “foul beast”. So cute. Sounds like you and your daughter are having a wonderful and fun-filled summer. πŸ˜€

      Thanks again for stopping by, and for taking the time to read.

Leave a Reply

