Down the Rabbit Hole

I am still alive!! I’m not sure if anyone other than me is thrilled at this news, but … there ‘ya go. As my husband is fond of saying, “It is what it is.” This happens to be one of my least favorite sayings of all time, mainly because, of course, a thing is whatever it is. What else would it be? But, I digress …

The last time we were all together, you guys witnessed me limping my way toward the finish line of ecstasy known as The Last Day of School. And I do mean limping. I wasn’t sure my daughter and I would both make it to the bitter end. I think both of us, mentally, were “done” with school at least a month and a half before the official last hurrah. Too bad the powers that be of the great state of Virginia didn’t agree with us. I suppose that’s how it always goes, though. No one listens to the little guys.

And so, my summer started off with a heartfelt sigh of contentment. I welcomed it with open arms and visions of relaxed days watching movies and having fun with my daughter … of tackling projects that I never managed to get to during the school year (like cleaning out those pesky closets and making much-needed charity donation runs) … of learning to play the piano … of laughter and friends and much-needed extra sleep in the mornings … of getting the second draft of my stupid book done. I was excited. I was full of the promise of new beginnings and as-yet unseen adventures. I was motivated and ready to go. “Summer,” I thought, “Here I come!”

sunflower drawing from my journalAnd do you know what happened? Summer laughed in my face. And then, she proceeded to kick my happy little butt all over town. Because the reality of life in the summer barely even resembles the fantasyland my mind manages to conjure up by the end of each school year. The reality of summer is this: struggling to entertain a bored child for days on end … early morning swim practice, which your child insists on attending but can’t do so without complaining bitterly … camp, camp, and more camp … music lessons … scheduled playdates … family travel time … a few more sessions of camp … vacation bible school … and lots and lots of crap scattered all over the house.

Here I am, nearly at the end of July, and, as I look back over Summer, I wonder what I managed to accomplish. What about that closet cleaning project? Nope; didn’t happen. What about that whole sleeping-in thing? Uh … No. Not even on the weekend, now that kiddo and I are both taking piano lessons on Saturday mornings. Hmmm … Well, how about all those wonderful crafting projects I had planned? Ha! Yeah — not so much. What about that second draft of the stupid book? Well, I wrote about a page and a half of new material. I can’t say I feel I accomplished a whole heck of a lot in that area, either.

And yet, there was laughter … and time spent with friends … and impromptu chats in the car on the way to and from camp … and giggles while playing with the dogs … and a movie or two, as well. Perhaps I haven’t gotten much done so far this summer, and, maybe, Summer really has managed to kick my butt. I think I’m nearly ready for Fall to roll around so that I can recapture the illusion of a “normal routine” around here once more. But, when I look back at this summer, I don’t think I will regret even one misspent moment of it. Because we had fun. Isn’t that what Summer is all about?

14 thoughts on “Down the Rabbit Hole

    • Thanks! Ivory tickling is going passably well. I’ve had four lessons — will have my fifth one this coming Saturday. So far, I can play a very simplified version of “Ode to Joy” and a bit of Yankee Doodle. Aaaaaahh … the classics. πŸ˜€ The whole reading music thing is coming back to me, albeit very sloooooowly. But Bass Clef is a new and unexplored universe. Yay for learning something new!

      My daughter decided she would take piano lessons, after all, which is great because it saves me from insisting she do so. πŸ˜› She had her first lesson this past week, and loved it. Yay!

      • I hope so, too. Well, in the end, it doesn’t matter if she wants to do it or not. It’s one of those things I am going to insist she continue … but it’s a lot easier if she enjoys it! (LOL) So far, so good. Hopefully, that will continue. πŸ˜€

  1. HaHa! I actually laughed out loud reading this. My son yelled out “whats funny?” HaHa. You described the school break time so eloquently! HaHa. I am always planning to preform amazing tasks too. I wondered where you was. πŸ™‚

    • Ha! I made you LOL! πŸ˜€ I love it. I knew I couldn’t be the only mom out there who experiences this over school breaks. Somehow, they never live up to my expectations. Which, in a way, stinks … but, in another way, is all right. Perhaps I need to adjust my expectations a bit: ha, ha. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for wondering about where I was. I was shocked when I realized it had been such a long time since my last post. Looks like keeping up with my blog was another thing I “didn’t get to” over the Summer. πŸ˜›

  2. Welcome back! I think summer vacation is a lot different than when I was younger. It was long days spent outside until dark playing with friends or going to the pool. My mom used to have to drag my sister and I into the house.

    It sounds like you’re creating good memories for your daughter this summer and that’s what its all about. Enjoy August! πŸ™‚

    • Yes! Same here, although for me it was time spent outside playing with my dog and cats or riding my horse. We were in the country, so there wasn’t a lot of chance to play with other kids. Still, whatever I did didn’t involve my parents that much — at least, not until summer band practice started up. LOL

    • LOL! It is really funny, particularly since I seem to fall prey to this fantasy each and every time. Somewhere inside of me there’s a realist shaking her head and saying, “You know it’s never going to work out this way …” But I blithely ignore her. *sigh*

      Silver linings are the best, though! And I agree, once school starts up again, it’s time to get back to business. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

