Holy Guacamole!

I am happy beyond measure. I am giddy beyond belief. I am stunned speechless.

Okay, so not that one … because, really, I wouldn’t be sitting here typing a blog post if I truly had no words. Let’s just say my flabber is gasted and leave it at that.

a giant hand ... i dunno. National Harbor, DC.I just discovered that my blog has 153 followers! Wha-aaat? When did this happen? How did this happen?

I have no idea, but I am so excited and over-the-moon about it. It makes me want to giggle and celebrate. My inner child (and her not-so-inner alter ego) are both happy dancing over this stupendous discovery.

In many ways, it feels as if I’ve been blogging for forever. But, in others, it’s painfully obvious I haven’t been at this for very long at all. I think I still make a lot of rookie mistakes. I still feel anxious about every word I decide to send out into the ether. I still sit down at the beginning of each week — heck, the beginning of each day! — and think to myself: “What am I going to write about today?” And I worry that each idea might be my last. It’s a whole drama thing, but it’s a good kind of drama. The kind that gets my brain working and the ideas, hopefully, flowing.

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating (and repeating Β and repeating and repeating): Deciding to blog on WordPress was one of the best choices I’ve made in a long time. I had forgotten how much fun writing could be. I had forgotten that I wasn’t alone out here in the world: stuck inside my head with only my own words to keep me company. I had forgotten what it felt like to be around kindred spirits — even if it is only via the internet.

And so, from the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank all of you for the wonderful experiences I’ve had so far. Thank you to my wonderful followers, who buoy my spirits every day with your kind comments, who inspire me with your beautiful blogs, and who remind me that I’m not alone out here. We’re all in this together.

Okay … now that the mushiness is over and done with, come and celebrate with me! Pull up a chair and pour a drink.

bottles of alcoholThere’s some fresh “guac” and chips in the corner …

avocadosAnd … a little bit later … we’ll even pull out the Mardis Gras beads. But keep your shirts on, people! This is a family site, after all.

beads in a cup.

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Holy Guacamole!

  1. I go through the same thing every week. I get serious anxiety before I post something–one thing that definitely holds me back from being as candid as I’d like–but I’m working on it. Hey, at least we’re brave enough to put something out into the world in the first place!

    • Yes! I have trouble with being truly candid on my blog. I worry that people I know in real life will read it, particularly since some things I really need to write about wouldn’t be understood well. But perhaps it will come with time. I agree with you, though: at least we’re trying and putting something out there. I think your blog is wonderful and incredibly brave.

    • Thank you very much! I think it’s true that writers gotta write … but there are days when the words don’t seem willing to come. At least with regard to the fiction I want to be writing. This is when keeping the blog is a good thing.

  2. ES has spread the word about your blog, so I’m sure a handful of those 153 followers are squirrels, raccoons, possums, skunks, and maybe even a fox. But like me, they all enjoy your writing, and that’s why I’m proud to be one of your followers! πŸ™‚

    • I have no doubt there are many woodland creatures among my followers, thanks to ES spreading the news around. I thank you for being one of my first followers … for your lively and fun comments … and for your friendship. I’m very happy we met here on WordPress!

    • Ha, ha! I can’t even imagine that happening! I was stunned when I hit 100 … now 150+ … ?!? It’s amazing to me, honestly. And I feel very blessed.

      Thank you for everything, my friend. πŸ™‚

  3. Wish I was closer…..I would so pull up a chair and have a drink with you…..I am sure we wouldn’t stop talking for days…..miss you and Phong!!
    BTW….I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

