Best Moment Award

Best Moment Award Graphic

Awarding the people who live in the moment,
The noble who write and capture the best in life,
The bold who reminded us what really mattered –
Savoring the experience of quality time.

 

RULES:

Winners re-post this completely with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded.

Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award; and winners notify them the great news.

RESOURCES:

 

  • What makes a good acceptance speech?
    • Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way
    • Humor. Keep us entertained and smiling
    • Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives
  • Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches, compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech
  • Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable in MomentMatters.com/Award

 

ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

I find myself more than a little surprised and flabbergasted over the “Best Moment Award”. And I’m not ashamed to admit I feel intimidated at having to write an acceptance speech. The words “Acceptance Speech” seem to hang there in my mind, using up all the space where I would normally store other words and thoughts. They are heavy words. The kind that say, to your face, “Hey, no pressure. You’re gonna do great!” But, behind your back, you feel them whispering to themselves about all of your “endearing” quirks and little inadequacies, until you walk away feeling  you have already failed. And yet, one must soldier on, even in the face of the most intimidating words.

I am not used to making acceptance speeches. I am not the kind of person who has to accept anything requiring a speech. (I have more than my fair share of bad luck, but that doesn’t count. Life seems to hand that stuff out for free, without expecting anything in return.) Heck, I’m not even used to people listening to me or reading what I write. I think I have mentioned before that this is one reason I love my dogs so much: because I can talk to them without seeming “crazy” for talking to myself. Now, if only I could teach them to read … But, I digress.

I am humbled and amazed that there are a few intrepid souls brave enough to weather the rambling thoughts and the ups and downs of this blog. I am thankful beyond words for you guys. Without all of you and without your support, I would have given up. I know it sounds all “drama queen”, but it is the truth. For a long time, I told myself it didn’t matter whether or not anyone read my writing. I told myself it was enough to write just for me. But you know what? That’s a lie. I wish it was true, but it isn’t. Yes, I write for myself. I write what I want about whatever happens to catch my fancy at any given moment. But writing was meant to be read. Without all of you, the words would be just that — words. They wouldn’t live or have as much meaning. So thank you all, from the bottom of my heart, for coming to this blog. And for reading.

Many thanks to Moment Matters (http://www.momentmatters.com) for this lovely award. I feel that I have many moments each and every day. But I am not sure any of them could qualify as the “best” in any category. Well, maybe “best temper tantrum”. I can throw a heck of a tantrum when I get wound up. At any rate, it warms my heart to think anyone could visit my blog and find a “best moment” hidden somewhere in there. And, like a true hidden gem, I suspect it will remain a mystery to me. But that’s okay. Searching through my memories and thoughts, looking for my very own “best moment” isn’t a bad way to pass the time. At the very least, it keeps me off the streets. For that, we should all be grateful.

THE WINNERS OF THE BEST MOMENT AWARD ARE:

And, of course, we come to the section of the post where I pass along this award. As I have said before — and will continue to say, because it bears repeating — I never know how people feel about these things. Some folks, like myself, have fun with them and enjoy them. Others would rather avoid them like the plague. But … what I do know is that each of the blogs listed here fills my mind and my day with “best moments” each and every time I visit them. I would have to say that about all the blogs that I follow. I love each and every one of them with a stalkerish kind of devotion that would be frightening if I wasn’t so darn cute. *ahem* With all of that said, I decided to pick only five blogs for this award. I hope that’s okay with everyone. As always, if the folks listed here don’t care to participate, that is quite all right with me.

A New Perspective Perhaps (http://anewperspectiveperhaps.wordpress.com)

St. Sahm (http://stsahm.wordpress.com)

Alesia Blogs (http://alesiablogs.wordpress.com)

On Wylie Hill (http://onwyliehill.wordpress.com)

The War In My Brain (http://meganhasocd.com)

 

One thought on “Best Moment Award

Leave a Reply

