No Pants Wednesday

Ha! Made you look, didn’t I?

So the allergies that I had seem to have morphed into a nasty cold. I still can’t breathe, and I’m still mad as heck that the world outside my windows is sunny and cheerful. And today, all I wanted to do was wallow. I just wanted to wallow around my house like a big, wallowing … thing. (And, truthfully, it’s kind of fun to type the word “wallow” repeatedly. But I’ll stop. I promise. Okay. I’ll try.)

A big part of not feeling one’s best is being comfortable and squidgy and just not caring. And, for me, that means no pants. Not NO pants … but no “real” pants. You Β know, sweatpants or pajama pants instead of jeans or slacks or a skirt. I guess, technically, a skirt doesn’t count as “pants”, but they are evil. So I feel they should be lumped in there with pants, particularly on days when I’m feeling whiny and under the weather.

But the world doesn’t work that way. My dogs are out of food. If they don’t get food, they might decide to eat me. I think they will try for the cat first, but I have to face facts: my dogs are wimps, and the cat’s no pushover. And I have to sleep eventually. My kid is out of food, too. Why does everyone and everything in my house insist on eating? It’s really annoying. Also, my daughter has this weird obsession with me picking her up after school is over for the day. I think it would be much more efficient if she just set up a cot in the cafeteria, because we would never be late again. But she is really weird about wanting to sleep in her own bed. And get love and stuff. Kids — what’re you gonna do?

All of this means that I have to go to school and get the kid. And I have to go to the grocery store. And so, I am sitting here, still plotting ways in which I can kill off Spring, grumbling under my breath as I type this. And yes, for the record … I am wearing pants. But I split the difference between comfort and society’s expectations; they are my “fat pants”. Hey, I’m not perfect. I think summoning up the energy to shame myself into putting on pants for perfect strangers counts as a win. Maybe not every day, but, for today, it’s enough.

Which is good. Because it’s all I’ve got.

And just so I don’t disappoint those of you who came Β here expecting a picture, here you go:

A goose. Who is not wearing pants.A goose. Who isn’t wearing any pants. And, apparently, has no problems with it.

 

24 thoughts on “No Pants Wednesday

  1. Mine did the same. I slept most of the day. My husband told me today that my post was good at first and then fizzled at the end and I said, I lost steam half way through because I didn’t feel good. Critics eh?

    • Yes!! Comfort for the win! (You can’t see it, but I’m fist-pumping at my desk right now. And high-fiving the computer screen, too. Woo Hoo! :D)

      Thanks for the well-wishes. I feel somewhat better than yesterday, and I got my voice back today. For about thirty minutes or so. Still — an improvement. πŸ˜›

  2. Hey there feel better! No pants day is a good day in my books! :>) I have these indian print pants with a draw string. Loose and comfy! I LOVE them. One should never have to dress up for society! Every now and again I like to wear something “out of character” just to say “SO THERE!!!!” to society. You feel better soon!

    • Thanks for the well-wishes! I hope I’m feeling better by this weekend, as I have to man two different Girl Scout Cookie Booth Sales, one on Saturday and one on Sunday. Ugh. Already dreading it. >.O

      Draw string pants are the best. I have a pair of really grungy flannel pajama pants with a draw string. And one super-grungy pair of sweatpants. These are my go-to “pants” for a day spent feeling icky and lounging in bed. Sadly, I can no longer wear them in public. (Although, seriously, we live in a world where just anyone can wear a TinkerBell outfit. How bad could cruddy-grungy pants be in comparison? Hmmm …)

    • Ugh. I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. I hope you are on the mend soon. You’re welcome for the laugh. I’m happy you enjoyed it, and that it gave you a giggle. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, on both counts! I have to admit it would have been a much better “No Pants Wednesday” if I had been able to lurk inside (away from the pollen), instead of being forced to venture out into the world. Ah well … there’s always next Wednesday. πŸ˜€

    • Ha! You are so right. A goose would look really weird in pants. Probably because they have no butt … or maybe because they have butts that are too big for pants? Hmmm … Then again, maybe it would be a funny thing to see. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the good thoughts and well-wishes. I have been eating lots of soup. I think things are starting to settle down. I would say “clear up”, but such a thing is not possible with allergies. They are always there in the background, lurking. *cue ominous music* o.o

  3. This post made me laugh. I can certainly relate and your witty question about why everyone feels the necessity to eat cracked me up.
    I shared this with a friend who doesn’t blog and he found it very amusing as well.

    • Hi! Awww, thank you! I am very happy this post gave you a good laugh. That makes my day! Thanks for sharing it with your friend, too. That’s super sweet of you. I’m glad he liked it, as well. πŸ™‚

  4. Allergies are the worst! I hope you’re feeling better soon. I love to relax in what I call my “lounge pants,” which are comfy flannel in the winter and soft cotton in the summer. Love the photo!

    • Yes! Those “loungey” pants are a must-have. Truthfully, I would wear mine out in public if I didn’t live in fear of showing up in one of those “people of wal-mart” posts — although I don’t actually shop in Wal-Mart. But people are everywhere with their camera phones. It’s the shame that keeps me in line — LOL!

      Allergies are stinky and annoying. I’m starting to feel as if I’m on the mend, though, which is good news.

      Thanks, as always, for the kind wishes and supportive comments. πŸ™‚

      • That’s hilarious, the Walmart photos! Sometimes I’ll doubt if they are real, but then I go to Walmart and my doubts vanish. πŸ™‚ Take care of yourself!

    • Thanks! I’m on the mend from this latest allergy attack. The trick now is to remember to take my allergy meds and keep out of the wind (we’ve had a LOT of that around here lately) so that I don’t have a repeat attack.

  5. Awesome sauce! My nod to ‘dressing up’ in such situations is yoga pants. It’s actually kinda dressy for Walmart, so depending in where you like to do your shopping, throw a scrunchie in and go! PS: feel better soon! We too suffer from seasonal allergies and local honey has helped, a lot, as has a Neti pot, but one is yummy, the other gross.

  6. At least you haven’t lost your sense of humour! I have a couple of days a week where I stay in my ‘house clothes’, daggy track pants, pyjamas, old jeans etc and I really resent having to get ‘dressed up’ to go into town. My kids have flown the nest but my animals will insist on eating too!

Leave a Reply

