I Want to Hug the World

butterflies hatching: niagara falls, canadaI just realized my blog has over 60 followers! Just … wow. Consider my mind boggled by the sheer, unexpected awesomeness of this.

You guys couldn’t possibly know this, but I started this blog as something of a last-ditch effort to get myself writing again. At the time, I had been in the dumps of writer’s block hell for two years. (Yes, I really did just type “two years”. Ugh. It’s depressing just thinking about it.) I had two first-draft novels completed, but felt stuck and unable to edit them. And, the worst part was that I felt my creative energy ebbing away. I was in that place where I had begun to believe I would never write again. I believed I would never have another story idea, and that I would have to go through the painful process of, once more, figuring out who I was. Because it was obvious I wasn’t a writer. After all, a writer writes. And I wasn’t doing a whole heck of a lot of that. I wasn’t doing any of that. And my depression was winning. I had been struggling with it for a long time, and I thought I was making gains on it. But, as long as the writing didn’t come back, depression always had a toe-hold in my life. No matter how hard I tried to run away from it, it was always there, shadowing me like the big, black dog that it is.

union station: toronto, canada

So, faced with all of this, I did what any sane person would do. I started a blog! Uh … yeah. “Sane” is not the word. But, anyhow … I figured I would try to give myself a new start. A more positive start, as a way of trying to take a more positive outlook on my life, my writing, and myself. A last-ditch effort to tell depression, “Hey, Bubba. You think you own this. But you don’t. So … hit the bricks.” I didn’t know if it would work. Actually, scratch that. I figured it wouldn’t work, and that I would be an abject failure at it.

What I didn’t expect was that anyone would read it. And yet, you did!

balloons: boston, ma.Truly, I am humbled and shocked and just happy as heck about this. I wish I could track each and every one of you guys down to give you a “thank you” and a big hug in person. But, realizing this would be a bit creepy and stalker-ish of me, I will settle for this:

The deepest, most heart-felt, most teary-eyed “THANK YOU” a person could possibly manage over the internet. Thank you all so very much. For helping me to (ever so slowly) regain my courage and my voice. For encouraging me with your kind comments and your “likes” and support. For inspiring me with your beautiful words, amazing artwork, and mind-blowing photographs. For showing me how much beauty there is in the world. For reminding me that life is out there, just waiting around for all of us to grab hold and enjoy it as much and as loudly as we can. For helping me, in just a few short months, to feel “at home” here on WordPress.

And so, to show my thanks, I thought I would give you all some flowers. It’s traditional and sort of classy. And it lets people know how much you really care about them.

cherry blossoms: marylandBut then, I thought to myself: “No … that’s just so “done”. It’s not good enough for your followers.”

So, instead, I have decided I will give you a pony. I know, I know. It seems extravagant. And ponies take up a lot of room. Not to mention they eat a lot and … well, we all know what happens when an animal eats a lot. What goes in must come out, after all. But, still. He’s little. And cute. And he won’t take up much room

felt horse by rebecca ridoutTo all of you who have decided to follow my blog … To all of you who have stopped by to “like” a post … To all of you who have even stopped by just to read for a bit …Β Thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

 

32 thoughts on “I Want to Hug the World

    • You’re just saying that because I gave you a pony. ^.~

      I’m so happy to have “met” you through WordPress. You and your blog both rock, and I adore ‘ya right back!

  1. Thanks for the pony, the virtual hug and the lovely words. There are a lot of lovely people out there, aren’t there?

    I started blogging to get me in the habit of writing so I could have a go at the novel that’s been agitating to get out. It worked. Writing is now a part of the daily routine. I`m 30,000 words down the line and it’s growing slowly.

    Try it – go on, you can do it.

    • You are so welcome for all of the above. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your encouragement and kind comments. You are so right: there really are a lot of lovely people out on the Inter-Webs. It’s easy to forget that, when it seems like the worst of the worst get spotlighted or shoved in our faces.

      Good for you on getting into such a good daily routine for writing! That is wonderful!! I’m not quite certain yet that my block is completely broken. But I do think I’m getting close. I’m hoping I can go back soon to edit those first drafts, as well as continuing with another in-progress story I started for NaNo. I will be happy if I can managed to, once again, get into the daily routine.

  2. I’m proud to be one of your followers, and I bet you get many, many more before the end of the year! Your writing is lovely, but I have to admit (being a visual person and all) that it’s the way you work images into your writing that I love best of all! They are always just perfect for the moment, and bring a smile to my face as I’m reading! Thank you for my pony, I will always cherish him! But now I have one jealous unicorn that will no longer speak to me…. πŸ˜‰

    • Awwww! Thank you so, so much! πŸ™‚

      I know it sounds so dumb of me, but I remain amazed that even one person would read what I wrote. Amazed and extremely grateful.

      I’m happy you like the images within the posts. I wanted to figure out a way to use writing and photographs together. So, I’m happy that it has, more or less, fallen into a pattern that is enjoyable and makes sense. I’m also glad that the pictures seem to fit the writing, so far. I struggle with that, and I’m always worried that I got it “wrong”.

      Yay! Ponies!! But I don’t want your lovely unicorn to be jealous. Poor unicorn. *pets*

  3. Awwwwe! A pony! I always wanted a pony! Im glad to see you make it through the dark time and are now in the light. Keep writing, it was obviously what you were meant to do.

    • Thanks! Things are better now, and they continue to improve. Hopefully, the writing will, too. It hurts to feel unable to express yourself.

      Thank you for your wonderfully kind words. I appreciate it very much.

  4. Loved the post as, in some way or the other, it resonates with many of us.

    Clearly the blog has served the purpose of mitigating the block you faced in the past regarding writing. As you think back, what do you see at the core of postponing completion of your novels? What really was holding you back?

    The fact that you have so many followers in a short time is clearly an acknowledgement of your writing skills.

    Wish you great success going forward. Would be happy to support you in any way I can.

    Shakti

    • Thank you very much for your kind comment and for your support! I appreciate both very much. πŸ™‚

      I think the blog has helped to lessen or defeat (I hope!) my writer’s block. At the very least (or maybe I should say “most” … because it’s a pretty great thing), it has gotten ideas flowing through my head again.

      What was holding me back? Hmmmm … I like this question, but it is a hard one to answer. All important questions are hard to answer, I think, so it makes sense that this one would be, too. There were so many things holding me back. Depression. Fear. Anger. Just … lots of things. But I am coming to realize that I’m the only one who can truly silence myself. This is liberating … but scary, too! o.o

      Thank you again!

  5. words are good friends of mine, they are full of magic and promise just like each one of us…. you know the blogging world is a strange one but sometimes i think my poem or written thought is there waiting to be happened upon by the one person it was intended for (and i will never know who that is!) that makes ME HAPPY!
    I love that you have found your flow again

    • This is such a beautiful comment. Thank you so much for your wise words and for your kindness. I’m happy to have found my flow again, too. Now, to make sure it doesn’t et all stoppered up again. Yikes! πŸ™‚

  6. I am at the stage that you were in a few months ago! I just started three blogs – each one for a different purpose – and hope to make lots of friends and well-wishers πŸ™‚

    I have read only a few posts on this Blog, but I am already convinced that you not only include images into your text, but you create vivid imagery through your words!

    Great job!

    • Hi! Wow … Thank you very much for your incredibly kind comment. I am happy you have enjoyed reading my blog so far. And thank you for deciding to follow it, too. I hope I won’t disappoint you. πŸ™‚

      Before I started this blog, I read different articles about blogging in an attempt to pick up useful advice. The one thing all of them said was to have a theme in mind when you start a new blog. I thought about it for a long time, but I couldn’t come up with a theme. I knew I wanted to incorporate my photography — somehow. But, other than that, I only knew what I did not want the blog to be. I’m still not sure if there’s any sort of cohesive “theme” to this place … and that continually makes me nervous. Hopefully, I’ll feel my way along without looking too pitiful doing it.

      Congrats on your blogs, too! You are much braver than I am. I don’t think I would have had the courage to start three at one time. I barely managed to convince myself to start one! I’m looking forward to visiting all of your sites, too.

    • Thank you very much! I’m happy you enjoy reading, and I hope I don’t let you down. πŸ™‚

      The pony really is incredible. A very talented artist friend of mine created it. She even sewed the little saddle by hand.

    • Awww! Thank you so much! Your comment just made my evening. After dealing with “pets gone nutso” and whiny child, I needed a little lift. πŸ™‚

      I’ll do my best to keep on truckin’ with the blog. I still feel a little bit intimidated by the whole process, but I hope it’ll get easier as I go along.

      Thanks again!

    • Thanks! I agree that it can be a good stimulator for writing. So far, it hasn’t boosted me into writing as much as I had hoped. But — I am light years ahead of where I was just a few months ago with my writing. So I think this is all a very good thing. πŸ™‚

      • my writing has improved way too much since i started blogging, but i was absolutely addicted for the first few years and just kept trying every prompt i could try πŸ™‚

  7. Isn’t it a wonderful feeling when you realize someone wants to hear your voice. It is so heart warming to feel so validated and you deserve it. Keep on writing because we are all proof, we want you to keep writing πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you for the very kind words! I agree, it really is a wonderfully warm and fuzzy feeling to realize people actually want to read something I wrote. That hasn’t always been my experience — ha, ha. Actually, it still shocks me quite a lot … but in a good way. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! Both for the kind words and for the continued support. I appreciate both very much.

      Writing is SUCH a love-hate relationship. Lately, it seems like my muses mostly hate me. Argh. But, it’ll get better. Just gotta keep creeping ahead, even if it’s hard. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

