Time

Reflection through a store window at night.

 

Time is tricky and never stays
She slips and skips and drifts away
On silver feet, before you know
Softly, softly, she will go

I take a breath and hold it dear
Solemn and joyful and crystal clear
One perfect day lives in my mind
Forever and always, frozen in Time

We stood together and two became one
And then, before that day was done
I gave my love, you pledged your troth
But Time led us along, tugging us both

Now we are years along our road
And Time seems a burden, a heavy load
Never enough to each blessed day
Makes you seem so far away

In the end, she’ll take from me
Ears that hear and eyes that see
But know this until the end of Time
That I am yours … and you are Mine.

Leave a Reply

