A Blog of Loveliness?

A Japanese Maple branch, dripping with rain.

A little bit of “Cape Cod”. A Japanese Maple tree that grew in the front yard of the house where we stayed. And, of course, even rain was charming there.

I have a dear friend to thank for this blog name. When I told her about my desire to “start fresh” and create a new, uplifting place to share some of my photographs and favorite things, she called it my “blog of loveliness”. I think she was being tongue-in-cheek with the name, but, after trying to come up with a suitable blog title (and failing), it felt like a perfect fit to me. And so, Pish’s Blog of Loveliness was born.

I’ve blogged for many years over on Live Journal; I thought about revamping my site over there, but, somehow, it didn’t feel right to me. I’m at a point in my life where I feel the need to make a fresh start. And, in doing so, I’m trying to re-orient the way I face the world, too. It’s a big endeavor … and a little bit scary, too. So I think it kind of deserves its own, fresh blog space.

WordPress is a bit of a mystery to me at the moment. I think it will take some time for me to learn all the ins and outs around here. Hopefully, over the next few days (or week — depending on how busy life gets), I’ll figure out how to change things around and make myself at home.

My general plan is to have a place to share and post about my photographs. And a place where I can share some original fiction … and, maybe, a few musings about life, in general, too. Overall, though, I hope this blog will remain rather organic. I hope it will continue to grow and change as I do. Even though the idea of a “Blog of Loveliness” sometimes feels a little bit intimidating. But, here I go. Take a deep breath … and jump in, feet-first. I think this is going to be fun.

Leave a Reply

